People craft– getting along with yourself

We always hear that positive affirmations and mantras can increase confidence, but my (late) psychiatrist dad had said that they don’t always work when a person is blue.  That is because the depressed brain doesn’t believe them!  Here’s a solution.  Focus on all the bad qualities you don’t have.  This will get your brain out of its negative state. You might tell yourself:  I am not a bad parent.  I’m not a reckless driver who text-messages.  I’m not a person who never hugs anyone.  I’m not a person who forgets to put food and water in the dog’s bowls.

My dad, Philip Pugh, MD, psychiatrist and neurologist, used to say, “Frogs are happy because they eat the buggers that bother them.” 

10 thoughts on “People craft– getting along with yourself

  1. Kathleen Rowland

    Oh, those smooth-over buggers. At least when we know someone is struggling, we know better than to tell them to cheer up. We can listen. Maybe invite them to do something like feed the homeless. Everyone has talents to give to the world. Recently I invited a woman (single with two school age girls) who moved back to her parents’ home to come with me to serve dinner at the Isaiah House.

  2. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Kathleen, I know her. She told me she had no husband, no house, no future, nothing. So, she moved back with her parents. Bless them. Well, did she go with you?

  3. Kathleen Rowland

    Yes, and her daughters wanted to come, too. My oldest daughter Marla Kathryn hadn’t left for Boston U. yet, and the five of us went. When we know we aren’t the only ones struggling, we have faith.

  4. Kathleen Rowland

    Last week she landed a job as a receptionist at a photographer’s shop. She must have showed some talent at helping in other areas because the photographer is giving her some training. She is good at posing people and capturing details.

  5. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    That’s good to hear because I know she was a battered woman. Any photographer shop does weddings. I hope it doesn’t make her feel sad.

  6. Kathleen Rowland

    She’s thinking beyond that. She told me she works to find the bride and groom’s best angles, tries to capture precious details such as shy glances, and basically she’s telling their love story.

Leave a Reply

