People craft– getting along with relatives

It’s a joy buying gifts for kids, but buying for a teen or over takes genuine thought.   My objective is to find something just-for-them.  Last Christmas, I bought pajama bottoms and tops that were personalized to some extent– I embroidered their initials on them! And then I added other items to the packages such as CDs, books, and calendars.  My husband is a clothes horse and a very picky one.  However, I noticed his slippers were worn, and I immediately ordered what he already had!

The main thing to avoid is giving a loved one a gift that hints at self improvement.  When daughter Janice gained fifteeen pounds her freshman year at college, a friend bought her diet soda with a cosmetic item.  The 12-pack weighed on her with the grim realization that someone other than her wanted her to lose weight.   It’s dangerous to buy something that points to something personal.  To the reciever, the gift can bring out a shortcoming.  One Christmas long ago my husband gave daughter Marla supplies to help her clean up her room!  A pedicure gift certificate would not have felt like a punch in the gut.  MY CHRISTMAS PRESENT by Mauli* What, you think I’m messy?!

9 thoughts on “People craft– getting along with relatives

  1. Reba Studebaker

    Kathleen, on the subject of unwanted “gifts” and this is year-round, I really don’t like forwarded email messages unless it’s a topic I share with the sender.

  2. Kathleen Rowland

    Reba, you hit the nail on the head. If a friend sees something of interest between the two of you, the forwarded information is a benefit.

  3. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    I think you need to be a little more forgiving here. Some people send funny humorous things to their friends in order to keep in touch.

  4. Janessa Breckinridge

    It would be nicer if a note was included that would make it personal. Otherwise, I don’t respond to them. Mary Alice, you are very kind.

  5. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Thanks, Janessa. But hey, I just returned from Thanksgiving with many lard-ass relatives. I wanted to send them Janice and Kathleen’s steady weight loss guide. Guess I can’t because they might feel badly!

  6. Kathleen Rowland

    Correcto, Mary Alice, I don’t want GOLD STANDARD OF THIN to feel like an insult. It won’t be available until January anyway, ha ha.

  7. Kathleen Rowland

    Funny thing– Marla tends to be messy, but then when she does neaten up, it becomes neat in the extreme with colors coordinated in her closet. However she does it is fine with me. Her dorm room in graduate housing a Boston U is very small. She says that has forced her to be neater.

Leave a Reply

