People craft– getting along with relatives

You know grandparents aim to please.  Our grandson D’mitri, in the second grade, is a reader.  Because of reading, his vocabulary and world knowledge is beyond most, according to his teacher.  My daughter-in-law can’t keep him in books since he reads about one per day. Guess what he wanted his grandparents to buy him for Christmas?  Grandpa (dear heart) bulked, “Don’t kids need toys?”  We compromised by ordering some hobby rockets along with the second generation Kindle and felt lucky to get one since it was the number one seller across all categories in November.  The Nook e-reader from Barnes and Noble completely sold out.   More choices are coming down the pike, but son Johnny tells us the great feature is the ability to order books immediately and easily with wireless technology.  I enjoy that about my eBookwise which costs under $100.  All I have to do is order books from the eBookwise web site and then download with the telephone line.  (The website knows the identity of the e-reader because I entered the serial number and my phone number when I registered it.)

Designed for Amazon Kindle
8 thoughts on “People craft– getting along with relatives

  1. Janessa Breckinridge

    Kathleen, e-reader textbooks are cheaper! My sons, business majors at Cal State Long Beach, don’t have to carry textbooks all over!

  2. Kathleen Rowland

    Yup, love the e-Bookwise helpline also– last month I couldn’t remember how to delete books. I had a ton on it, all read, and I sent an email to the helpline. Within ten minutes, I received instructions. So easy. It was right there, but I’m a person who can’t think under stress.

  3. Kathleen Rowland

    European IREX Technologies (a spin-off of Royal Philips Electronics) plans to release its device in 2010. Japanese giant Sony announced the $400 Daily Edition. You won’t find them in stores according to Alex Pham, a reporter for the L.A. Times. Only customers who preordered the Daily Edition will get them before Christmas.

  4. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Have you heard about the huge electronics show in Vegas– not sure when that will be. Many new e-readers will emerge, so I’ve heard.

Leave a Reply

