People craft– getting along with yourself

For all-day energy, you need a perfect sleep.  Do you sometimes go to bed feeling wired and tired at the same time?  Rebalance your body with deep breathing.  Young attractive blond woman in sportswear doing yoga moves or meditating on tropical ocean beach by joey3good Simple, slow breathing before bedtime erases stress, helping to improve your zzzzs and lengthen the amount of time spent in REM sleep, the deepest and most useful stage, say Harvard sleep experts.  Why it works:  Folks who don’t sleep well often have high levels of the stimulating hormone adrenaline, making them feel perpetually wired.  Research proves deep breathing can lower those levels by 50%.  For the best results, researcher Sat Bir Khalsa, Ph.D., recommends closing your eyes and mouth, relaxing your face and inhaling for a count of four.  Then hold your breath for a count of seven and exhale to a count of eight.  Repeat ten times.

7 thoughts on “People craft– getting along with yourself

  1. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Deep breathing works for me to relax, but I do it through swimming. At the end of any work day, I’m wired-tired.

  2. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Also, if I want to sleep well, I never go to bed angry. I believe this adage is absolutely true. If I have an argument (and lately it’s been with my mom who wants a grandchild!) I need to settle things before going to bed. Don’t get me wrong, I would love to have children. Rob would make a great dad. But, I’m missing one foot and would rather adopt than be pregnant.

  3. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Kathleen, Rob and I are looking to adopt a sibling group. Sometimes the birth parent doesn’t want to give their children up for adoption. In that case we could be foster parents. It would be hard if they left, though.

Leave a Reply

