Exercise– for Body and Spirit

Thirty minutes a day of aerobic exercise will help you beat stress and control some chronic diseases.  Exercise also helps you manage your weight.  If you want to drop excess pounds, trade some couch time for walking or another physical activity.

This one’s a no-brainer. When you engage in physical activity, you burn calories. The more intense the activity, the more calories you burn — and the easier it is to keep your weight under control. You don’t even need to set aside major chunks of time for working out. Take the stairs instead of the elevator. Walk during your lunch break. Do jumping jacks during commercials. Better yet, turn off the TV and take a brisk walk. Dedicated workouts are great, but physical activity you accumulate throughout the day helps you burn calories, too.  In GOLD STANDARD OF THIN, co-author Janice and I discuss interval training.  You weave bursts of brisk exercise into a moderately paced workout.  Walk for a minute at normal pace, and then pick up the pace (as if you are trying to get to an appointment) to accomplish interval training.  By doing this, you will improve your cardiovascular fitness, make your routine more interesting, and burn more calories.

What is it about dog ownership that keeps us trim?  walking the dogs by ​favourite waste of time​ I find that if I give them a few minutes to scratch, sniff, do their duty, and then pick it up for disposal, they’re ready for some fast paced walking.

9 thoughts on “Exercise– for Body and Spirit

  1. Janessa Breckinridge

    Kathleen, after a brisk walk with interval training, the huge bonus is that muscles are active for the rest of the day. I feel invigorated.

  2. Kathleen Rowland

    Janessa, your muscles always need to do a bit of repair work after intense exercise. During that time, you are improving your fitness level and also burning calories.

  3. Reba Studebaker

    Ladies, I love my stationary bicycle which is permanently parked in front of the TV. For some extra muscle boosting, I do arm moves. I raise my hands straight over my head– targets my back– and then I push both hands straight out in front of me at chest level. Basically this upward and forward movement of arms works the chest, back, arms, and core. And, I feel muscles working in my abdomen.

Leave a Reply

