People craft– getting along with relatives

Animated ValentineGranted, in-law jokes are usually aimed at mother-in-laws, often sources of friction and difficulty.  But,  let me tell you about my sister Bethany’s daughter-in-law.  Here’s her situation:  Bethany lives in the next state east with her husband, Joey, who has a son, Joey Junior, age 29.  Presently, he and his wife Penny, live with them.  Joey Senior and Bethany (officially a step mother-in-law, sounds toxic, huh!) invited Joey Junior and Penny to live with them when they became homeless.  That was nine months ago.  When they do find a steady income, they will move out.  However, in the meantime, snippy daughter-in-law Penny finds all kinds of ways to bait Bethany and make her look bad.  Bethany does all the right things—leaves the room or even apologizes in an effort to cool things off.  To warm the hearts of put upon mother-in-laws, today is daughter-in-law from hell day. Do you have any jokes to share?  I will start us off below!

12 thoughts on “People craft– getting along with relatives

  1. Kathleen Rowland

    Mother-in-law was out shopping the other day when she saw six women beating up her daughter-in-law.

    As she stood there and watched, her next door neighbor asked, “Aren’t you going to help?”

    Mother-in-law replied, “No. Six of them is enough”.

  2. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    I don’t have any kids or a daughter-in-law, but here goes. . .
    Two mother-in-laws were in a pub drinking. One says to the other, my daughter-in-law is an angel.” Her friend replies, “You’re lucky. Mine is still alive.”

  3. Janessa Breckinridge

    Texas mother-in-law: What should you do if you see your daughter-in-law rolling around in pain on the ground?

    Answer- Shoot her again.

  4. Rachel Goldberg

    What’s the difference between a catfish and Penny?

    Answer– One’s a scum sucking bottom dweller, and the other one is a blood sucking leach.

  5. Kathleen Rowland

    Bethany, best of luck working things out. I know you are trying really hard for a person who isn’t naturally sweet, ha ha!

  6. Kathleen Rowland

    Afraid so, Reba! Finally I realized my personality impacted them differently. Also, some women are less territorial than others. My Caribbean descent daughter-in-law is easy to get along with no matter who it is. I am very lucky there. In the “other case” I have keep my distance. I keep my visits to their home at a minimum although I send stuff to my granddaughters all the time.

Leave a Reply

