Eat– for Good Health

My Tuscan Stuffed Eggplant at 300 calories per serving and takes 15 minutes to prepare and has a cook time of thirty minutes.

Photo is courtesy of Caren Alpert.

Mediterranean Stuffed Eggplant Recipe
Ingredients for 4 servings:
4 medium-sized eggplants
Nonstick spray
8 oz ground chicken or turkey
2 medium bell peppers, chopped
1 medium onion, chopped
2 tsp minced garlic
1 can (14 1/2 oz) diced tomatoes
1 cup water
1/2 cup regular pearl barley
2 cups baby spinach
3 Tbsp chopped fresh basil
2 Tbsp grated Romano cheese

Line a baking sheet with nonstick foil. Halve eggplants lengthwise, then scoop out flesh with spoon, leaving a 1/2-in.-thick shell. Coat eggplants with nonstick spray; invert on baking sheet. Chop scooped eggplant. Coat a large nonstick skillet with nonstick spray. Over medium-high heat, cook chicken, peppers, onion, chopped eggplant and garlic 4 minutes. Add tomatoes, water and barley. Reduce heat. Cover; simmer 25 minutes or until barley is tender. Meanwhile heat broiler. Broil eggplant shells 12 minutes or until lightly charred and soft, turning once.  Stir spinach and basil into chicken mixture; spoon into eggplant halves. Sprinkle with cheese.

13 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. Pinky Heatherton

    I have to say, I’ve given up French fries and burgers. I’ve lost fifteen pounds since I started the Gold Standard plan.

  2. Pinky Heatherton

    I gave up sugary fruit-on-the-bottom yogurt. I’ve been making my own with plain non-fat yogurt and mixing in a half cup of blueberries, orange sections, or strawberries and a sweetener packet. Before leaving for work, I eat breakfast at home.

  3. Rachel Goldberg

    Pinky, I do, too– I make oatmeal or a scrambled egg (one egg and an egg white). Otherwise I hit the vending machine at work around ten a.m.

  4. Rachel Goldberg

    Three pounds a week when I’m consistent and plan ahead. I broke up with my steady guy and had a bad few days of binging. I’m back on track now, and when I’m tracking (ha, ha) losing weight is less daunting. It feels self respecting to eat healthy and exercise.

  5. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Rachel, you are taking care of yourself. Good for you. No need for dramatic measures if you are lowering your calorie intake. Exercise will also bring wonderful results.

  6. Kathleen Rowland

    Rachel, a breakup is hard on us emotionally. Even though it sounds like you are recovering, it’s okay to allow yourself to feel blue. But that’s the time to hit the pavement and run off some frustration. I remember you said you were a jogger.

Leave a Reply

