Places– of charm

We love our homes when they’re organized.  Although individual taste rules, an organized area keeps similar things together so that they can be found quickly.  With spring cleaning, I start in the kitchen and because the garage is my throw-out area, I save it for last.  Organization isn’t inherited.  It’s learned.  Try not to be overwhelmed by your present condition.  Set small goals.  Break jobs into small pieces, a drawer or cupboard at a time.   Your mission is to get your living space organized so that you have more time to enjoy family or friends.  Or you might want to have people over and suspect they like peeking into closets!  Don’t think for one minute that this part of the organizing mission is not self-respecting.  It’s prefectly fine to want to present our home (and ourselves) in the best light.

11 thoughts on “Places– of charm

  1. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    My husband Rob is quite the organizer, and this might be because he served in the military. He always puts things back where they belong.

  2. Kathleen Rowland

    Pinky, the chunk at a time method works for me also. I set a time limit, maybe an hour. When I set a goal, I also set a kitchen timer and race against the clock.

  3. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    If I ever go to model homes, I love the open and empty spaces. Truly the best way to sell a home is to empty it out completely and then stage it.

  4. Reba Studebaker

    Even though I don’t always do this at home, the same muted wall tones throughout with new carpeting or polished hardwood flooring goes a long way. I guess that would be second to updated kitchens and bathrooms.

  5. Kathleen Rowland

    When sellers leave a mess, they will get less for their homes. If they can’t afford all the updates, a clean home can look very charming and go a long, long way toward a decent selling price.

Leave a Reply

