People craft– getting along with yourself

Gather your friends (of all ages) and invited them over for a few hours of egg decorating.  Having something to do with our hands is fun while we express ourselves creatively.  Before guests arrive, have around four to six boiled and chilled (easier to handle) eggs available.  White eggs work best for dying while brown is fine for painting.  Easter eggs by lone sophistWaxy crayons are handy for little marks that stay on through the dying process. Commercial dye kits are nice for pastel colors, otherwise use acrylic paint.  Gather an assortment of craft supplies such as craft glue, glitter, stickers, plastic gemstones and ribbons.

Use a throw-away plastic pastel tablecloth for easy clean-up. Serve your friends carrot sticks with light ranch dressing and a low cal punch with low sugar cranberry juice, diet 7-up, and a bunny shaped Peep (30 calories each) stuck on the side.

15 thoughts on “People craft– getting along with yourself

  1. Kathleen Rowland

    Hey Janessa, glad you can make it. Haven’t heard back from Reba, but Mary Alice says she’s available. The two young moms on the street are coming with their kids. Actually I invited everyone on the street, but usually the same group comes.

  2. Kiwana Jones

    So that’s what it is!! Glad it isn’t me. It’s hard to plan anything, I’m finding when people don’t know what they’ll be doing when I invite them over.

  3. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Kiwana, it’s a terrible social habit. It comes from the absence of having to plan. Californians never had to learn how to get through winter. For you and the rest of us, we have a huge advantage– particularly at work. We use planning calendars!

  4. Rachel Goldberg

    It’s very cool to have people over and not serve high calorie food. Now that I’m eating healthy, I don’t want to feed junk to other people. It’s a transition, though.

  5. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Rachel, having grown up in Georgia, I know all about butter, sugar, fried, and deep-deep fried. I used to think this kind of food meant LOVE! Now, I feel like you– it is the opposite.

  6. Pinky Heatherton

    Portion control is still my biggest hurdle. If I go out to eat, I force myself to wrap up half. I do this right away.

  7. Kathleen Rowland

    Good job, Pinky. That is what Reba Studebaker (legs model) has done for years. And that is even when she orders something most people would consider low calorie. And, dressing is always on the side.

  8. Rachel Goldberg

    The mindset for looking for fun stuff to do has really helped. I like reading your chapters Nuggets for your Inner Self and Making your World Golden, Kathleen.

  9. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Success isn’t always about a paycheck even though I like challenges at work and enjoy monetary rewards. It’s also about figuring out why I’m here and discovering my greater purpose in life.

  10. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Actually, Rachel, Kathleen and I are involved in a feed the homeless project at Catholic Worker. We go to a lovely house in Santa Ana and help prepare and serve dinner twice a month.

Leave a Reply

