Eat– for Good Health

If you have tried new ways to broil fish, try marinating it first.  On Friday night, I bought a pound of fresh caught Alaskan halibut, and marinated it with Basque fish sauce which I bought for around four bucks at the store.  It is made with sherry and burgundy wines with olive oil, onion, garlic, lemon peel, parsley, oregano red pepper, and other spices.  How fuss-free was that? My husband said he’d forgotten how good fish was.  Of course, being from Jersey City, dear heart smothered it with ketchup.  That’s okay!
Add pineapple and lemon slices as garnishes.  Steamed veggies make a wonderful sidedish.

  • Pineapple-Glazed Fish Photo
  • If you can’t find this fish sauce, prepare the halibut fillets for the broiler yourself.

    Ingredients:

    • 4 halibut fillets, about 6 to 8 ounces each
    • salt and pepper
    • 1 tablespoons butter, olive oil, or butter spray
    • 3 cloves garlic, finely minced
    • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
    • 1/2 teaspoon dried leaf basil
    • 1 tablespoon fresh chopped parsley
    • lemon slices
    • parsley leaves

    Preparation:

    Place halibut fillets skin side down on greased baking pan or greased rack of broiler pan. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.In a small saucepan, combine butter, garlic, and herbs. Heat over low heat until butter is melted and garlic is softened, about 1 to 2 minutes. Spoon butter mixture over each fillet. If making ahead, cover the pan and refrigerate for 2 to 4 hours, or until ready to cook.

    Heat broiler. Broil halibut for about 10 minutes, or until it flakes easily when tested with a fork. Garnish with parsley leaves and lemon slices, if desired.

    9 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

    1. If your interested in a few GOLD STANDARD OF THIN food makeovers, try these replacements:
      Instead of a fast food egg sandwich, make eggs and turkey bacon and serve on whole wheat or rye toast.
      Replace fast food burrito or Mexican pizza with a turkey pita made with a small pita or large half, turkey breast, avocado, sprouts, and hummus.
      Instead of a fatty prime rib dinner with “the trimmings”, try the broiled fish above.

    2. Reba Studebaker

      Kathleen, you probably knew that healthy but slim models eat fish a few times a week. I am going to search for Basque Fish Sauce.

    3. kathleen rowland

      Reba, that sauce was quite a find! I’ve noticed that after dropping 25 pounds myself, I feel much more energetic. Yesterday I received an email from a reader who wrote she’d become less of a recluse. I congratulated her but told her to continue using the seven secrets.

    4. Janessa

      One favorite secret is to plan ahead. If I take a trip on a plane, I bring my own food– even if it’s a hard cooked egg or chicken breast homemade sandwich.

    5. Mary Alice Tallmadge

      Being trimmer helps my ego. I know I look good in a bathing suit. My five-day exercise program is swimming, swimming, swimming, swimming, and swimming! On the weekends, Rob and I are outside, often on the kayak.

    6. Becky Greenwald

      So, what do you do when you want a chocolate molten cake. Yes, I’m talking about an indulgence of 500 to 1,300 per piece. Yum.

    7. Welcome, Becky. That all depends upon whether your activity level will burn it off. Maybe order something like that for the entire table and share it. When I have a craving for something sweet, I go for a bowl of melon and berries. Admittedly, I’ve trained my brain to crave fruit instead of cake. Thank you for your excellent question.

    8. kathleen rowland

      It takes at least a month to develop new habits. Good luck to you, Becky. Find a fun way to exercise– walking is a great way to start if you aren’t involved in something at the moment. Stop back and let us know how it’s going.

    Leave a Reply

    