Wordsmith– I also write books

If any of you hit upon some practical solutions to life’s problems, it may be time for you to write them down for sharing in a book.   One daughter, Janice, struggled with her weight while observing that skinny-genes older sister, Marla, ate donuts.  (Well, not all the time.)  Sons Jeff, John, and Ted and my husband are trim, athletic men.  So, the two of us, Janice and I, decided to get healthfully thin.  As we figured it out, we came up with seven secrets to weight loss.  After achieving our goal weights, we have maintained them.  Yesterday while shopping at the mall, I took note of food I used to eat and what I’ve replaced them with.  For instance, I avoid typical fast food shakes that have as many calories as a hundred gummy bears.  Now I wait until I get home and make a purple passion smoothie:   having already sliced a banana and placed it in the freezer, I put it in a blender with 1/2 cup frozen blueberries and 1/2 cup light Tropicana orange juice.  It’s the best.   I also avoid bagels with full fat cream cheese.  The scant protein in cream cheese is not worth the calories, and a bagel is dense empty carbs.  A typical smoked turkey breast sandwich on country white bread has as much sodium as 15 small orders of fast food fries.  Some packaged turkeyis better than others– Applegate Farms Natural Roasted Turkey Breast is a good product, and I make a wrap with it at home.  Look for products labeled low sodium.

On Amazon, you can click the cover and read inside the book!

Gold Standard of Thin

8 thoughts on “Wordsmith– I also write books

  1. Mary Alice

    Kathleen, I have your book in my kitchen with other cookbooks. Frankly, your recipes are the easiest. Rob does most of the shopping and cooking. Yesterday Rob made the four serving Cheatin Chicken on page 46 that cheats time with one prepackaged Cedarlane Burrito Grande. Jake and Max really liked it.

  2. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Janessa, sometimes I noticed Max (11) stares off into space. Jake (8) said after their parents got a divorce, both of them were in relationships where their partners didn’t want them. I am going to have to cut this short, but I want to say the boys are pretty darned normal. Max asked Rob (my husband) if he minded that they (the boys) had darker skin than us. Rob said he liked all shades of skin tones!

  3. Kathleen,

    I’m always inspired by recipes you post here. Now I can buy your book!

    My family has been on the Sonoma Diet for the past few months. It’s not so much for weight loss as for healthier hearts and attitudes. The proportions and portion sizes are Mediterranean rather than American so we’re eating more protein, more fiber and less carbs yet our cravings are still satisfied. We’ve lost weight, too, which isn’t a bad thing, but it’s not the focus. We’re enjoying our meals by actually “dining”, which has made dinnertime that much more enjoyable for us as a family.

Leave a Reply

