Eat– for Good Health

Asparagus Frittata is a low carb, and one serving is 70 calories.  Served with a low calorie Caesar salad and a whole grain muffin (the kind made at home!) this makes a lovely lunch.  Generally speaking, the world is composed of two breeds of eaters.  If we are constantly fighting a weight problem, we might have been raised in the meat and starch tribe.  Does your heart quicken at the sight of a stately crown roast or tenderloin marbled with fat?  Do you crave the crisp and fleshy pleasures of the the torn drumstick, butt-ends, and drippings?  In this tribe, meat was served with potatoes smothered in butter and sour cream, and grandmothers baked homemade cookies and pies.  This was how I ate as a child, but now I am a member of the fruit and vegetable tribe with a little whole grains and “complete or completed” protein thrown in. 

Asparagus Frittata Ingredients below for 6 servings:

  • 6 large eggs and 6 egg whites, shelled and beaten with a wire whisk
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan grated or any low fat grated cheese
  • 1 tablespoon butter and butter spray (used if necessary)
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1/2 pound thin pencil asparagus blanched in boiling water, chilled and diced
  • 1/4 cup assorted fresh chopped herbs: thyme, chives, chervil. 
  • Salt and pepper

Directions:  Preheat an oven to 325 degrees F.  In large bowl combine beaten eggs with milk and Parmesan. Heat the butter and oil in a large saute pan, until the butter is frothy. Add the onion and cook until the onion is translucent and golden, being careful not to burn them. Using a large wooden spatula, stir in the eggs and turn the heat down to very low. Stir the eggs to form a large flat omlette shape, fully covering the bottom of the pan. When the eggs begin to cook and take shape, stir in the diced asparagus and herbs. Place the whole saute pan into the oven and continue to cook for 2 more minutes until the frittata is cooked around the edges and the center has puffed up.

Remove immediately form the oven. Invert onto a serving plate.

17 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. Kathleen, about the products for sale (such as muffins) you really can’t trust them. When I read the label, I look for the string of ingredients knowing that largest quantities come first. I see corn sweeteners and fat right up there, and grains that look whole aren’t always whole because dark corn syrup is used to make the product. Plus, the calorie load is huge.

  2. Makes me shutter, too, Reba. Yesterday Rob shopped for dinner and made lean pork chops, sweet potato fries in cute waffle shapes, a mix of frozen vegetables, and salad. I know, I know I’m very spoiled because I go swimming after work, and he (the love!) fixes dinner for the four of us. Well, I didn’t say anything about the sweet potato fries– they were a frozen package that he baked in the oven at 400 degrees. But, the oil on them, ugh. Turns out seven little pieces were 230 calories.

  3. Hey ladies, my weight has gone down twenty-three pounds, and I’m not about to let the holidays ruin me! I wheeled and dealed my way through the Jewish holidays, and I’m in a tough position mentally to get through the rest of the year. Thank you, Kathleen, for your advice in how to handle the people who want to keep us fat!!

  4. Congratulations, Becky! Glad you made use of GOLD STANDARD OF THIN. In Chapter 6 Nuggets for the Inner Self, I wrote three pages about all the many people who, when learning about our desire to lose weight, sabotage our efforts.

  5. Kathleen, I have a can-do spirit, and that drives me forward. I have lost twelve pounds and want to lose another twelve. I like what you wrote on the back of your book cover. It touched my heart.

  6. Pearl, I felt there was a need for that sentiment. On the back cover of GOLD STANDARD OF THIN: You have two kinds of beauty. There’s the kind you wear on the outside. You’re so much prettier than you think. There’s the kind on the inside, your unique blend of strengths, passions, kindness, and talents that make you who you are. Abounding health is something else, and as you become thin on the Gold Standard Plan, you will have that, too. Can a woman be too rich or too thin?

  7. Anyone who reads this thinks about her own uniqueness. Individual’s unique ways of thinking do not need to change. Staying focused on weight loss doesn’t mean we can’t be fun people! For me, I continue being playful, somewhat in the moment, and while still making intelligent food choices, I live in a sweet situation and thin body!

Leave a Reply

