Exercise– for Body and Spirit

My brother-in-law Jeff Campbell and my younger sister Beth  took us (my husband Gerry and I, son Johnny’s family and our daughter Janice) on a hike around the backbay of Newport Harbor.  Since it was low tide, there was a colorful aviary wildlife with white egrits, blue herons and varieties of hawks feeding in reeds.  The wind roared like an elk in rut, but we didn’t see any.  We hiked for two hours while enjoying each other’s company.  Johnny would have preferred taking us to the Dana Point sea caves, but hiking up and down boulders would have wrecked havoc on Jeff’s knees.  The backbay is home to nearly 200 species of birds, including  several endangered species.

 

Back Bay Photos Balboa Back Bay Photos 

      

Snowy Egret
8 thoughts on “Exercise– for Body and Spirit

  1. At group gatherings such as these, I do a lot of listening rather than speaking. I truly believe listening intently and commenting is a more stellar communication skill. D’mitri and Roxy enjoy telling me what they’re looking at, knowing I’m interested.

  2. Admittedly, I like to show off just a little knowledge or at least ask insightful questions. I read National Geographic cover-to-cover and sometimes can add a little something. But, it takes a scheming mind not to lecture.

Leave a Reply

