Places– of Charm

In Southern California we’ve had elevated levels of rain this year.   Now home owners have turned sprinklers back on.  Some residents have gone “dry garden” since SoCal, in its true state, is a desert.  I’m warming to this idea; it’s 80 degrees here today even though yesterday, when I mentioned the topic, a neighbor said, “over my dead body, we like Irvine to look like the temperate climates from which we hailed.”  To that I said, “Succulents and grassy flax thrive on drip irrigation, need little weeding, and look nice against rocks.”

What do you think?

9 thoughts on “Places– of Charm

  1. Becky Greenwald

    Kathleen, my sister Shoshana and I recently returned from Israel, and there, we admired the effect of spiny plants near stark metal siding buildings. Yucca and agave was mixed in with trees with lacy follage (not sure what they were). So, yes, I find the dry garden look pretty.

  2. Janessa Breckenridge

    Agree, but I prefer the look of the Northern Nevada desert as opposed to the Las Vegas/Arizona look above. Northern Nevada has pines.

  3. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Well, yeah, Janessa. You prefer it because you and your husband went to college at UNR in Reno. I’m from Atlanta, and I like big spreading trees. We have sycamores, and they do well here without much watering. Sorry, Kathleen. I like green!

  4. Reba Studebaker

    Mary Alice, I grew up in Indiana. However, I have an appreciation of succulents, particulary the wacky cabbages. I have one that has a periscope stalk and cabbage-like head that can look you in the eye. It’s really really cute!!

Leave a Reply

