Places– of Charm

My daughter Janice learned about decorating with lots of color the hard way.  True, the “seaside taffy” tones of pink, aqua, and yellow blended beautifully on her walls, but the space felt smaller.  Now she wants her walls (every one of them) painted a very pale gray with bedspread and curtains to match.  Janice is away at college (Cal State Chico) but we’re hiring a painter to “neutralize, ha ha” her room and my office.  Yes, I tired of the olive green walls and want the light gray in here also.

The living room below appears larger than it really is because the pale sofas blend into the floor and walls. The single cranberry chair doesn’t overwhelm the room and picks up tones of the sofa pillows.

A mirrored wall is a classic room expander in the dining room below.

Isn’t the large mirror in this tiny bath a space fooler?

7 thoughts on “Places– of Charm

  1. Friends, I have been de-cluttering our home. In my office I’m going for open shelving. The wall behind the bookcase needs to peak through. I’m going to be donating alot of books. I don’t want a wall of books, but instead, mixing in items such as vases, photos, candles (the fake kind!!) so that the space is more open.

  2. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Kathleen, I hate to say this, but case in point, have you seen Melissa’s living room– white walls with chocolate (huge) furniture and a dark tweed carpet. Everything is fresh and new, but her living room looks tiny.

  3. Kathleen Rowland

    Mary Alice, it really is true when we have a lot of contrast. Of course we don’t want to have everything in a room really dark.

  4. Kathleen Rowland

    I hear you, Reba. Bet their clutter doesn’t show up as much though! What I’m getting out of my office re-org is this: Out of clutter, find simplicity. Albert Einstein said that. It really is true that I think better in serene surroundings.

Leave a Reply

