Eat– for Good Health

Friends, I try to serve fish at least once a week.  In order to make it appetizing for my husband who doesn’t enjoy fish as much as I do, I often use a single serving of Asian flavored noodles.  Here’s what I did last night, and he loved the cod which I’d sprinkled with Italian bread crumbs and lightly browned in a butter-sprayed pan.  I served the cod over a single serving of 330 calorie A Taste of Thai Peanut Noodles.  He ate more noodles than I did.  I completed the meal with steamed broccoli and a fruit cup made with an orange, apple, and grapes.   

Asian women consume less noodles than American women, adore fish and eat unlimited steamed veggies.  The beautiful person here is Via, my son Ted’s live-in partner.  Both are RNs in Los Angeles.  Via is Filipina.

12 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Kathleen, here I am a black woman and enjoy fish as much as Via! She’s gorgeous, by the way. I like your idea to jazz up fish. I need our sons Max and Jake to like it. The omega 3 fatty acids in fish reduces the risk of many types of cancers by 30 to 50 per cent, especially of the oral cavity, oesophagus, colon, breast, ovary and prostate. Hurray for deep water fish.

  2. Kathleen Rowland

    Heck yeah, I’m not Asian either and enjoy fish immensely, Mary Alice. Another benefit is for our cardiovascular system – eating fish every week reduces the risk of heart disease and stroke by reducing blood clots and inflammation, improving blood vessel elasticity, lowering blood pressure, lowering blood fats and boosting ‘good’ cholesterol!

  3. Becky Greenwald

    Lessening the risk for dementia is another reason to eat fish. I read a study that elderly people who eat fish or seafood at least once a week may have a lower risk of developing dementia, including Alzheimer’s disease.

  4. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Becky, I know about that study also. Another benefit has to do with depression; people who regularly eat fish have a lower incidence of depression (depression is linked to low levels of omega 3 fatty acids in the brain).

  5. Kathleen Rowland

    Alrighty then, as long as you ladies want to be totally thorough–To lessen the risk of diabetes, fish may helps by managing blood sugar levels. Another fact has to do with eyesight– breastfed babies of mothers who eat fish have better eyesight, due to the omega 3 fatty acids transmitted in breast milk. Last but not least inflammatory conditions are lessened– regular fish consumption relieves the symptoms of rheumatoid arthritis, psoriasis and autoimmune disease. Good reasons to eat fish, would you say?

  6. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Hold on to your panties, I’ve got one more! This has to do with premature babies. Eating fish during pregnancy helps reduce the risk of delivering a premature baby.

  7. Reba Studebaker

    On the subject of losing panties, that pink bikini bottom is now in front of Edward and Esperanza’s house. Who does it belong to?

  8. Janessa Breckenridge

    This is just a guess, but the house (# 5) is rented by a bunch of guys who go to UCI. It probably belongs to one of their girlfriends. This is what happens– they have sex in cars in the wee morning hours and sometimes throw out panties as a little joke. Same for condoms which is a nastier habit of theirs. When people take their dogs on walks, the dogs drag the panty items for a while and then drop them.

  9. Kathleen Rowland

    I think I’ll let May-belle (who likes to get ahold of things and shake them dead) pick it up today, and I’ll dispose of it in the bin near the tennis courts. I doubt if the girl who wore the pink bikini wants it back at this point.

  10. Kathleen Rowland

    Mary Alice, Ted told me they are planning a summer trip to the Philippines so that he can meet his mother and younger sister. I hope so!

Leave a Reply

