Eat– for Good Health

Happy Valentine’s weekend!  If you are cooking for your mate, consider low calorie Greek-inspired Sauteed Spinach and Feta as a side dish.  Since you don’t want spinach watery, make sure spinach is well-drained if you’re using frozen.  If you’d like to turn it into a main dish, add almonds and seedless red grapes, cut in half.   One serving is 250 calories. What your man really wants is for you to be svelt and sexy.

Valentine clip art: UR Hot yellow candy heart

  For him, buy a mini French baguette.  Many of you who follow my Petals in the Gazebo blog (here) came to this breezy place to support the GOLD STANDARD OF THIN eating plan.  When my daughter Janice and I wrote this guide for healthy eating, we searched common sense ways to drop twenty pounds.  Adding extra fiber and getting enough protein (the good kind!) not only keeps us full, but it enhances weight loss results.

Ingredients for 4 servings.

 
  2 tsp olive oil   
  1 medium onion(s), finely chopped   
  20 oz chopped frozen spinach, thawed and well-drained   
  1/4 tsp table salt   
  1/4 tsp black pepper   
  2/3 cup(s) crumbled feta cheese   

Directions:

  • In a large skillet, heat oil over medium heat. Add onion and cook, stirring frequently, until just golden, about 3 minutes.
  • Add spinach, salt and pepper, stirring to combine. Cook until heated through, about 3 minutes; stir in feta. Yields about 1/2 cup per serving.
18 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. Wade Coleman

    Kathleen, I read your book– borrowed from my wife’s night stand. The food is really good, and I usually eat two servings. As a guy, I totally agree, both this goes for both men and women. We like making love to a fit body.

  2. For those of us who have been married awhile, if you want a better relationship, be brave and try something new. Break out of a ho-hum routine. This prompts the brain to churn out lots of dopamine, the chemical that gives us a head-over-heels-in-love sensations.

  3. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Kathleen, my husband Rob and I are teaching our sons Max and Jake to dance. Don’t know why, but after the boys are sound asleep, our love-making takes on some new dimenstions!

  4. Janessa Breckenridge

    That’s really sweet, Mary Alice. I was watching the weather channel this morning, and a popular Valentines getaway is the Phucket Island in Thailand. That’s an actual place, ha ha, and we all know how it’s pronounced.

  5. Reba Studebaker

    Kathleen, besides having a date night at a concert or comedy show (both would be new to us!) what do you have in mind to get that allover tingly feeling, the kind you have when you are falling in love?

  6. Kathleen Rowland

    Okay, Reba, and other friends who visit here– please don’t think badly of me when I share this! My husband was going through a difficult performance problem because of a slightly enlarged prostate. I needed to help him out, and researched what to do.

  7. Kathleen Rowland

    In his case, friction was needed. I had believed that lubricating jelly was a good thing, but I learned otherwise. I bought (a different love-making product) a his-and-hers packet that when combined, created a bit of friction. Other friction I used was hand and other type movement (not wanting to make this too personal and scare everyone away). My methods worked!

  8. Wade Coleman

    Kathleen, I admire you for trying so hard. Many wives would fear their man’s failure and avoid making love. You did research! Bet your husband appreciated that.

  9. Kathleen Rowland

    Reba, she might be. But my husband will say, “I really like going to the Thai Pleasure Palace.” I’m glad, because I have lots of fun there, too!

Leave a Reply

