Eat– for Good Health

Recently I made the switch from low calorie mayo to hummus which comes in a variety of flavors.  My favorite is Sprouts’ artichoke hummus, but like other varieties such as pine nut and red pepper.  With its superior flavor, hummus is a fantasic alternative to mayo and combines well with feta cheese.  California Chicken Wraps get another flavor boost with fresh basil.  Total prep time is fifteen minutes, and this recipe serves 4.  Friends, with a little planning and a few switches, you can lose weight but not have to make a separate meal for the rest of the family.  Believe me, they will love recipes from our GOLD STANDARD OF THIN COOKBOOK.

Ingredients: 1/2 cup prepared hummus, 4 whole wheat 8″ tortillas, 2 cups cubed cooked chicken breast, 1/4 cup chopped roasted sweet red peppers, 1/4 cup low fat Feta cheese, 1/4 thinly sliced fresh basil leaves.  Directions:  Spread hummus on tortillas, top with chicken, and everything else before rolling up.  1 wrap is 300 calories.  You might like to save the banana as an afternoon snack.

California Chicken Wraps Recipe

11 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. Watching what we eat sounds as hard as watching what we spend until we get ourselves on track. Journaling is the perfect way to get back on the right path. I feel better about myself when I’m responsible.

  2. Kathleen Rowland

    I did, Mary Alice. We met for soup and salad at Olive Garden. She’s had a depressing time– last child off at college, the big move from the midwest back to California, and then her dad died over the holidays. She said she can barely get out of bed some days.

  3. Kathleen Rowland

    Hi Janessa, we’ve been friends for about five years. She’s a lot of fun and very nice. I asked her what would make her happy right now, and she rattled off: getting a publisher interested in her new series and losing twenty pounds.

  4. Kathleen Rowland

    Yessiree, writers are ofen F-A-T. I told her that I get a happiness burst from swimming laps. Yesterday I didn’t make it and my shoulders ached last night– that’s weird, I ache when I don’t swim. Anyway, I did tell her that getting aerobic exercise daily would help depression while she’s working on her other two goals.

  5. Kathleen Rowland

    Janessa, moving is very hard. In Lisa’s case they moved back to where they’d lived before, and that part was hard in itself because YOU CAN’T GO BACK. Everything is different. Their boys aren’t home anymore, and Lisa’s husband works long hours and plays golf.

Leave a Reply

