Eat– for Good Health

You can lose weight and dine on delicious ravioli  if measuring quantity (of the pasta) and choosing quality (less fat).  I enjoy spinach with ravioli. If some members of your family need marinera sauce, heat some up and serve it separately.  Enjoy a green salad with this!

Recipe Ingredients
  1 20-ounce package frozen lower fat cheese ravioli
  6 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil , divided
  2 cloves garlic , minced
  1/4 teaspoon salt
  1/8-1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  1 16-ounce bag frozen chopped or whole-leaf spinach
  1/2 cup water
  1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil; cook ravioli (or tortellini) according to package directions.
  2. Meanwhile, heat 2 teaspoons oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add garlic and cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add salt, crushed red pepper to taste, spinach and water. Cook, stirring frequently, until the spinach has thawed, wilted and heated through, 5 to 7 minutes. Divide among 4 bowls, top with the pasta and drizzle 1 teaspoon of the remaining oil over each portion. Serve immediately with a sprinkle of Parmesan.

Health Advantages: low calorie, high fiber, low sat fat, low cholesterol, high potassium, high calcium, heart healthy, healthy weight.

Prep Time: 20 minutes
Ready in: 20 minutes
Yield: 4 servings, about 1 1/2 cups each
Ease of Prep: Very easy!
15 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. Reba Studebaker

    I didn’t think I would ever have to shed a few pounds, but now that I’ve hit forty— yikes, my metabolism has slowed down.

  2. Kathleen Rowland

    Glad you like ravioli, Mary Alice.
    Reba, I know all about slowing metabolism. I’m (considerably!) older than you, and if I didn’t swim laps every day, I would have a very tight waistband!

  3. Melinda Meyer

    If you don’t mind me asking, Reba, what do you eat if you absolutely have to drop weight fast. I know you are a legs model in L.A.

  4. Reba Studebaker

    Melinda, I don’t recommend my crash diet to everyone, but you asked, and I want to answer honestly. Here is what I am going to be eating for two weeks. It is a 500 calorie a day plan. At the end of two weeks (or perhaps less than that) I will have lost five pounds:
    breakfast: egg white omelette with broccoli and slivers of red pepper, coffee with nonfat milk
    lunch: a fruit/yogurt shake if made at home or an Atkins shake if on the run
    dinner: a salad with vegetables and fruit
    later: plain tea

  5. Kathleen Rowland

    Reba, I think you should add lean protein to your dinner salad– maybe 3 ounces of turkey or braised tofu would round out nutrition requirements.

  6. Reba Studebaker

    Yeah, you’re right. I will do that since I want to stay strong. Thx for the info. I don’t want to look like your sister who is pretty anorexic at this point.

  7. Kathleen Rowland

    Oh my, yes, Reba. B. (in spite of the extensive plastic surgery– $85,000 dollars worth within the last year– looks like she’s aged because she wants to be skinny. I can’t reason with her.

  8. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    I hope I’m not offending you, Kathleen, but I talked with her briefly when she visited, and I think she’s in a manic state.

  9. Kathleen Rowland

    Mary Alice, I feel badly for her husband because the manic personality is very irritating. It’s grandiose and flighty. I hope she gets help before her husband walks away. Beauty that’s skin deep doesn’t hold anyone’s interest for long. He’s patient but told me it’s hard. He avoids her company whenever possible.

  10. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    My husband Rob thinks she looks like she’s “had a lot of work done”. That isn’t actually a compliment.

  11. Kathleen Rowland

    At this point, B. doesn’t look radiant and healthy. Maybe when she gets psychiatric help and eats wisely, she will look better. She never, never exercises but had liposuction. Her stomach is very wrinkly. It’s a strange look.

  12. Janessa Breckenridge

    Kathleen, I know you love your sister B. very much and worry about her, but she doesn’t seem willing to help herself. I’ve talked with her also and she is grandiose-manic. She has this annoying habit of asking a question (as if she’s interested in another person) but then quickly getting back to herself or making blanket opinions. Basically she is a know-it-all and very high maintenance.

  13. Kathleen Rowland

    Janessa, you’ve got it right, and yet at the same time, B. is very needy. I pray for her mental health every day, and I do spend time with her.

Leave a Reply

