Exercise– for Body and Spirit

In order to transform my body (love that phrase!) I am switching up my strength routine using the kettlebell exercises.  Actually I have a knock-off kettle-like-bell that weighs the 8 pounds and has two handles instead of one.  Some kettlebells are much heavier.  These are for warriors. One of my daughters, Janice, had it stashed on a shelf in her closet.  It’s a fun easy-to-use tool, and I’ve been “at it” for a week without having any painful moments.  I do about twenty minutes of (kettlebell) exercises before daily lap swimming.  The woman below is not me.  She is the kettlebell model.

Traps (trapezius)
Shoulders (deltoids)
Triceps (triceps brachii)
Biceps (biceps brachii)
Lats (latissimus dorsi)
Forearm (brachioradialis)
Middle Back (rhomboids)
Lower Back
Glutes (gluteus maximus and medius)
Hamstrings (biceps femoris)
Calves (gastrocnemius)
4 thoughts on “Exercise– for Body and Spirit

  1. Kathleen Rowland

    Janessa, I bought Prevention Guide Weight Loss (little magazine for $3.99) which features simple, safe kettlebell routines. The toning sessions are done lowly. They look like swinging (of the bell or ball) but are sustained muscle movements. When you do them, you contract your core. (That’s my apple core!)

  2. Kathleen Rowland

    Melinda, I am enjoying these “slow swings”. I also watch what I eat and fill up on whole grains, vegetables, fruit, and lean protein with healthy fat. I like deep water Alaskan fish.

Leave a Reply

