Eat– for Good Health

Friends, a few years ago I made a decision that I didn’t want to “diet” for the rest of my life.  At the same time, I wanted to be trim.  My solution was to prepare delicious, low calorie food.  I love variety, too.  I have always enjoyed cooking but decided only to cook healthy recipes.  It’s all about fresh low-cal ingredients in perfect combinations.  I don’t feel like I’m dieting! My Tex-Mex Quinoa Salad is a versatile salad can be served warm in a tortilla.

Directions:

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup fresh lime juice
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 (14 ounce) can diced tomatoes with green chile peppers, drained
  • 1 (14 ounce) can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 bunch cilantro, chopped
  • 2 avocados, cubed
  • 1/4 cup crumbled cotija or any grated lower fat cheese of your choice
  • Directions

    1. Bring quinoa, water, and salt to a boil in a saucepan. Reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer until the quinoa is tender, 20 to 25 minutes. Meanwhile, stir together the lime juice, olive oil, pepper, diced tomatoes, and garbanzo beans. When the quinoa is done, stir it into the tomato mixture, then cool in refrigerator until cold, about 2 hours
    2. When the quinoa is cold, fluff with a spoon, and gently fold in the cilantro, avocados, and cheese.

    Tex-Mex Quinoa Salad Recipe

    7 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

    1. Friends, the recipe above contains complete protein, but I completely understand that men think they need meat. My husband will think he needs actual meat is his tortilla, and I will add slices of lean roast beef from the deli to his.

    2. Becky Greenwald

      Jeez, why do guys not get the combination of grains and beans with dairy that creates all the necessary amino acids?

    3. Mary Alice Tallmadge

      Becky, with my husband, Rob, he didn’t take any nutrition classes at college. I can explain it, but he doesn’t believe me!

    4. Kathleen Rowland

      Ladies, I think we need to protect them from themselves. We don’t want them to develop high cholesterol.

    Leave a Reply

    