Places– of Charm

Designs this year are about big and strong with colossal proportions.  The scene below with stone has an ancient feeling about it that could evoke Zen or early more simplified Christianity. Whether designs are for outdoor or indoor, colors are solid.  Indoor furniture is massive wood with inlays.   In all, the trend is a statement of substance.  Given the tough financial times, worldwide, I find this interesting.  We are looking for peace, and this means less stress!

 
9 thoughts on “Places– of Charm

  1. Becky Greenwald

    The place where I work is doing some cut backs, and I’m worried about my job. My eating habits have taken a nose dive. Help! Stress is making me fat! Ideas?!

  2. Kathleen Rowland

    Becky, first, I’m sorry to hear about your scary situation. Start sending out resumes just in case. You will feel better. What you say about stress and eating is true. According to research, stress makes us pack on pounds. And, stress makes it more difficult to shed them.

  3. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Becky, stress sends your body into a fight-or-flight mode, and this makes you want to fuel up on calorie-dense foods. You can turn off those cravings instantly by sipping chamomile teal. The dried flowers of the chamomile plant contain sedating compounds that ease anxiety and stress.

  4. Reba Studebaker

    For once, ha ha, Mary Alice is right. Just kidding. Chamomile contains an amino acid, theanine, that ups the relaxing alpha brain waves. You will feel more relaxed and can make better food choices.

  5. Kathleen Rowland

    Absolutely, chamomile tea is a god-send. Be sure you’re getting enough sleep. Take a catnap if necessary. Sleep increases your levels of the appetite supressing hormone leptin. You won’t experience those bouts of emotional eating which is always the wrong kind of eating.

  6. Janessa Breckenridge

    Becky, walking outdoors always helps me. I feel a lift of mood. Maybe we’re soaking up the sunshine vitamin D which is mood lifting. Just working my muscles increases my happiness level.

  7. Kathleen Rowland

    Janessa, whether walking or swimming, exercise helps so much to bust out of a stress-filled mood. In fifteen minutes I’ll be swimming laps. First I have to take the dogs for a walk. Maybe I’ll see some friends out there. . .

Leave a Reply

