Eat–for Good Health

Traditionally (for decades!) our Friday night dinners are Mexican with ground beef tacos and chickenchaladas as our favorites.  With melon as dessert, meals are accompanied by shredded lettuce, chopped tomato and cucumber.  This year I learned that I should cut down on meat of any kind because my bad cholesterol (although balanced with good)  is in the normal but high range.  I still make the family favorites, but for me (and others joining us who are watching cholesterol or are vegetarians, I make Bean and Cheese Tostada.  Here’s a little secret– I am having my photo taken at a book signing on June 6th and want to lose eight pounds by then.  Two pounds down per week is my goal, and I’m following what Janice and I preach in our book, GOLD STANDARD OF THIN, to the letter!  A plain corn tostada is a whole grain.

Mexican Food Items
Ingredients for one serving of Bean and Cheese Tostada:

  • 1/2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 cup pinto beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/4 tsp. cumin
  • 1/4 tsp. chili powder
  • 2 tbsp. low sodium salsa
  • 1 tbsp. fresh cilantro (coriander)
  • 1 oz. low fat, low sodium shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 each 6-inch corn tortilla

Directions:

Heat oil in a non stick skillet to medium heat. Add beans with spices and salsa; stir and cook for 2-3 minutes until thoroughly heated. Rinse and chop cilantro; set aside. Heat a separate skillet to medium heat, add tortilla and top with bean mixture and shredded cheese. Cover and heat for about 2-3 minutes until tortilla is toasted and cheese is melted. Serve topped with cilantro, or if you don’t care for cilanto, substitute fresh parsley.

 

 

14 thoughts on “Eat–for Good Health

  1. When facing dinner I will be prepared for any surge in appetite that can get me off track. This doesn’t happen when I plan ahead with healthy food. I take care of myself when I want to lose 2 pounds a week. And then I can relax and enjoy dining moments.

  2. Reba Studebaker

    Kathleen, I’m going to be watching you! Can I be there for a weigh in on June 5th, the day before the big shoot?

  3. Kathleen Rowland

    Janessa, you have no idea how this hurts to admit, but I weigh 137. Over the holidays and then some, I slipped off! I’m ashamed of myself. Crazy thing– I went swimming every day as always, but I was eating portions too large. I love to cook and eat. I was not paying attention.

  4. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    You’re toned, and it doesn’t show, Kathleen. Still, we know our own bodies. This happens to me now and then. I take inventory whenever I buy clothing. Pounds can hide under jackets!

  5. Kathleen Rowland

    Mary Alice, those pounds are right around my waistline. I have been in such a hurry, doing so many things, and now I need to make it happen– getting rid of eight pounds in a little over a month.

  6. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Melinda, there’s something fun about being in a hurry. I guess it’s whimsical and fun to go after something and accomplish it quickly. It can also add stress, which can also be the motivating kind, but too much pressure is restrictive and debiltating.

  7. Reba Studebaker

    That hurried kind of stress obviously got the best of Kathleen. Hey, you are going to invite us to the weigh in on June 5th, aren’t you– huh, huh?

  8. Kathleen Rowland

    Okay! I am inviting you, Reba, and Mary Alice, and Janessa to my weigh in on Sunday, June 5th. You can all watch the needle on the scale go to 129 pounds (137 – 8).

Leave a Reply

