Places– of Charm

Survey after survey, and year after year, a group of California cities rank among the happiest in the country.  This proud listing is not due to scenery or sunshine.  It’s determined by the bliss level of residents.  The top city is San Francisco.  Although famous for easygoing attitudes, mild weather, and stunning scenery, folks in S.F. are some of the healthiest eaters in the world.  The city boasts the most farmers’ markets and fresh co-ops.  Nutrients in fresh produce trigger the release of feel-happy serotonin.  At home, increase your intake of fresh produce.  Orange County’s secret is all about being active. Folks there fit in an average of 33% more physical activity each day than those in other areas.  Exercise counteracts stress and insomnia, and triggers endorphins in the brain, the famous runner’s high.  Get happy at home by puttering in your garden, playing with your pet, or going to the gym.  Other cities famous for bliss:  Loma Linda– because 80% of residents are church goers and live ten years longer.  Sonoma County’s secret– lingering, talking with neighbors, and just slowing down.  San Luis Obispo’s secret– getting involved in the community and deepen connections.  Sunnyvale’s secret– in Silicon Valley, is home to the happiest workers in the U.S.  Team work gives the work day a social aspect and brightens the day. 

photo
14 thoughts on “Places– of Charm

  1. Okay, I’ve had a pretty crappy morning. I made one of the biggest messes of my life by accidentally dumping a bag of dog food into the washing machine. The bag was sitting on the dryer, and I didn’t even notice I knocked it in. Needless to say, it took a while to clean up. So, now I’m going swimming to get myself in a better mood. I really need some endorphins today!

  2. Kathleen Rowland

    Actually, it was, Reba. I was washing my husband’s sports clothing! You know, trying to be careful. I’m in way too much of a hurry, and I don’t need to be.

  3. Janessa Breckenridge

    Once when my husband and I were first married, I made a loaf of bread. It was as hard as a rock, and I went out into the back yard, dug a hole and buried it.

  4. Janessa Breckenridge

    I adore them, but back then I was less secure. Isn’t it nice to grow up? We can accept making mistakes.

Leave a Reply

