People craft– getting along with yourself

Here are five reasons to stop worrying.  Don’t worry about getting too thin. If you weighed 120 when you were in your twenties, it’s okay to weigh 130 if you’re in your sixties.  An extra ten pounds helps keep osteoporosis at bay; fat produces hormones that increas bone mass.  A little fat around the face makes you look younger by plumping fine lines.  Super-thin models are more likely to suffer from depression, low self-esteem and loneliness reveals British research. After you make friends with your bathroom scale, read more reasons.

Soehnle Legno Bathroom ScaleIt’s a myth that happiness decreases with age.  New science tells us that HAPPINESS RISES WITH EACH PASSING YEAR.  The myths of empty-nest syndrome and the stereotypical midlife crisis don’t hold up to science.  A recent study of 28,000 people found older people far more optimistic and satisfied with life than younger folks.  Additional University of Chicago research confirms happiness levels increase by 5% each decade.  Another myth has to do with brainpower peaking in your 20s and 30s.  Research confirms that you get smarter with age. Gift-Wraped Box Cake Photos and Preparation Tips
Instead of losing brainpower as we age, neuroscientists now know myelination (the speed at which information travels between brain cells) doesn’t peak until late middle age.  However, beyond that our complex reasoning skills improve, and we’re better able to anticipate problems.  The elderly do forget things, but just as often they remember other things and put information to use. 

 

It’s a myth that women reach their sexual peak in their thirties.  New science proves women get more passionate as we get older.  According to a survey of nearly 70,00 women and men, women age 45 and up, are less inhibited and more adventurous in bed than younger ones.  We are comfortable expressing what we want.  A University of Chicago survey found folks 57 to 85 having sex as often as ages 18 to 56, and the average was twice weekly.

7 thoughts on “People craft– getting along with yourself

  1. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Kathleen, I weigh about the same as I did in my twenties, and I’m almost (!!) forty. However, I wasn’t boney thin then either. Most of the bloggers here know I lost a foot in a boat accident. I couldn’t get around gracefully if I weighed any more than I do. I’m 5’6″ and weigh 130. This is an absolute necessity for me.

  2. Reba Studebaker

    Mary Alice, you also keep yourself strong with daily laps in the pool and use light weights. Hurray for you. You know what works best for you. For me, I consume between 800 to 1000 calories a day, and none of it is empty calories. I have to maintain a thin body in order to find work as a legs model. No way am I going to gain ten pounds until I’m absolutely too old to do this!

  3. Melinda Meyer

    Just curious, Kathleen. You said you’re trying hard to get down to what was it, 129 by June 6th. How’s that going?

  4. Kathleen Rowland

    It’s going okay, Melinda. I’m loosing between 1 and 2 pounds a week. That’s the pace I like best because it is real fat coming off. My scale is my friend, ha ha. It tells real facts.

  5. Welcome to Petals in the Gazebo, Jill.
    That info makes me feel good also. In fact I decided to take a course this summer in web design called Dreamweaver (HTMLx) starting next week on May 22nd! It’s about time I got up to speed.

Leave a Reply

