People craft– getting along with yourself

You probably sensed this, and I have too.  Our computers can make us chubby!  Researchers recently found that stress triggered by 45 minutes of computer work caused women to consume 230 more calories at their next meal, compared to women who chilled out. 

Businesswoman using a laptop   Good news: we can dodge excess pounds, take regular breaks while working, schedule aerobic exercise (fat burning!) and watch food choices/portions. 

 This morning Becky asked me what I am eating today, and here is my plan:

Breakfast:  A homemade skinny latte, 1 slice whole wheat toast with 1 soy sausage patty, a low fat Mozzarella cheese stick, and fresh kiwi.

 
Snack: Avocado-Tomato Salsa with 3 whole wheat crackers

 
Avocado-Tomato Salsa recipe serves 1:
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. avocado, chopped
  • 1 Italian plum tomato
  • 1/2 oz. low fat, low sodium shredded cheddar cheese

Directions:

Rinse and chop finely chop tomato. Combine tomato with avocado and shredded cheese until well mixed. Serve.

 Lunch
 
Salad with Baked Trout, 4 wheat crackers and 1 small apple
Salad with Baked Trout Recipe serves 1

  • 2 cups lettuce, romaine or lettuce of choice
  • 4 cherry tomatoes
  • 2 fresh radishes (medium)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. olive oil and vinegar dressing (light)
  • 3 oz. baked or grilled trout

Rinse, dry and shred lettuce; set aside. Rinse tomatoes and radishes; cut tomatoes into halves and thinly slice radishes. Place lettuce in salad bowl and top with vegetables. Toss salad with dressing. Cut trout in bite-sized pieces and add to salad. Serve.

 
Snack: 1/4 cup nonfat Ricotta cheese with 3 T. chopped walnuts and 1 T.dried chopped apricots
 
Dinner: Southwestern Salad with strawberries and sliced almonds

Also Include: 2/3 cup sliced fresh strawberries
1 tbsp. sliced almonds

 
Southwestern Salad recipe serves 1:
  • 2 cups mixed salad greens
  • 1/3 cup canned black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 5 cherry tomatoes
  • 1 1/2 oz. fat-free mozzarella cheese – fat free
  • 2/3 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 tbsp. fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp. low fat sour cream

Rinse and dry salad greens. Add beans, onion and tomatoes. Mix olive oil with lemon juice, pour over salad and toss with cheese. Top with sour cream. Serve.

10 thoughts on “People craft– getting along with yourself

  1. Becky Greenwald

    Kathleen, thank you for your wonderful daily plan! You are so right about computers– working with them can make us nutty!

  2. Kathleen Rowland

    Becky, I’ve come to know this very well. Last week I decided to take a fast paced summer class in website design called Dreamweaver, XHTML. I’m on a learning curve! I thought it would be empowering to know how to update my website. So far I’m not empowered!!

  3. Mary Alice, I’m working hard to keep up with the class. College kids these days have advanced computer knowledge. What competition. But I don’t care about the grade, I’m focused on practical knowledge. However, I will let you know how I do. I know Reba will ask, ha ha.

  4. Reba Studebaker

    Yeah, and I have not forgotten about your weigh-in on June 6th, six days away. Your goal was 129. What do you weigh now?

  5. Kathleen Rowland

    Reba, last Thursday I weighed 132. I have been losing 2 lbs a week unless I eat something salty which retains water. I think I will make it.

  6. Kathleen Rowland

    Jill, glad you like them. I like fresh and easy. By the way Gorton’s frozen fish can be substituted– already seasoned and delicious. Lately I’ve been putting fish in salads which, before, I would have used chicken. Last night I added fish to a Greek Salad. My husband had the salad with pizza!

Leave a Reply

