People appreciation

L.A. Times art critic David Pagel writes about artist Elliott Hundley’s installation going on until July 1st at Regen Projects II–9016 Santa Monica Blvd in LA (closed Sundays and Mondays).  David Pagel’s words: Elliott Hundley’s scond solo show in Los Angeles took visitors on a mind-boggling journey filled with enough emotional turbulence to last a lifetime– or two.  Starting with junk-picked detritus, thrift-store leftovers, and glossy snapshots of friends posing like B-movie extras, the youg artist’s madly cobbled collages in two and three dimensions. . . 

Elliott Hundley– born 1975, is an American artist, living and working in Los Angeles. 

David Pagel is an art critic with great insight and wit, educator, curator, dioramatist, and bike enthusiast.

Hyacinth

14 thoughts on “People appreciation

  1. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Hundley’s powerful art seems to explode every which way. What he does with common objects is humorous and profound.

  2. Kathleen Rowland

    Don’t you love the trashy but sublime qualities, which is how David Pagel describes Hundley’s art. His art is not clear and simple. Its torment is aimed inward.

  3. Jill Martin, M.D.

    I can tell you why I admire his art– I feel like this alot. There’s not enough time to do all I want to do!

  4. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    I’m with you there, Jill. When I’m really stressed, I make a priorities list. Then I realized I’m not able to do all I want to do either!

  5. Kathleen Rowland

    Don’t we suffer from doubt-laced anxiety? I had a panic attack three days ago. I was stuck trying to get a video going for the online class I’m taking called Dreamweaver. I just stopped breathing, experienced pain in my chest and lungs. It feels like a heart attack. Yesterday I went in for a heart stress test just to make sure, and I’m fine. Scary though, at the time. My doctor said I’m in better shape now than when he did the test seven years ago. It’s because of my daily lap swimming, he says.

  6. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Good to know we’re taking care of our bodies by swimming. Of course others might now enjoy it, but can find their favorite aerobic exercise that keeps bodies young.

  7. Jill Martin, M.D.

    Doctors love it when their patients take their advice. Sometimes doctors need to take their own advice!

Leave a Reply

