Eat– for Good Health

One of my secrets for unlimited energy is maintaining momentum with protein.  I might start my day with oatmeal or an egg scramble, have a turkey sandwich  NA for lunch and end the day with bean chili and a salad.  Snacks are fruit.  Folks who follow a diet with adequate protein and no “unmeaningful” carbs have more energy than those who eat the opposite, say University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign researchers.  Here’s why– loading up on carbs may give you a burst of fuel, but it leads to a blood sugar crash.  By contrast, high protein and good carbs take longer to digest.  This helps you avoid the steep blood sugar drop, explains researcher Donald K. Layman, Ph D.  Avoid this protein trap– skip bacon, cheese, and sausage, and opt for leaner protein such as turkey, chicken, bison, and beans.  High fat foods prompt the release of a hormone that triggers sleepiness, studies reveal.

4 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. Up your speed with omega-3s– fish quickens reaction time. Karate practitioners pop supplements of omega-3 fish oil. Omega-3 fatty acids help transport key nutrients to cells and protect them from damage, ensuring the nervous system is functioning at its peak.

  2. Kathleen, I rev my engine by walking. If I’m tired at the end of the day, at least I can walk. Usually I’m able to do the 30 minutes. If not, I do whatever I can. Even a short brisk walk of ten minutes improves the body’s use of oxygen and revs circulation.

  3. At work I’m in a cubicle with no natural sunlight. I get so sleepy I’m ready for a nap in the afternoon. Instead of taking a break in the break room, I go outside and walk around the building. I feel much more alert afterwards.

  4. Afternoon slumps can be dodged with sunlight. Mary Alice, I’ve read bright sunlight blocks the effects of adenosine, the sleep-inducing brain chemical that builds as the day progresses. This is according to Kasuke Kaida, Ph D, a lead study author.

Leave a Reply

