Eat– for Good Health

Are temperatures hot where you are?  These are salad days, and you might like to try my scrumptious  low-calorie Salad with Tofu and Black Beans.  Remember, tofu tastes good when it is braised to a golden brown with just a little sesame or other oil, nothing close to deep-fat frying.  Serve it on a mix of field greens and spinach.  Garnish with apple slices, skin on of course. Have you noticed the dandelion greens in field greens?  Blame the Pilgrims (who thought it was a cure-all)  for bringing it to America.

Ingredients for 1 serving (which you can multiply)

  • 2 1/2 oz. firm tofu
  • 1 tsp. lite soy sauce
  • 2 green onions
  • 3 cherry tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp. fresh cilantro (coriander)
  • 1/3 cup canned black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/4 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. fresh lime juice
  • 1/3 tbsp. olive oil

Directions:

Drain tofu and then pat dry with paper towels; cube into 1-inch pieces. Coat a nonstick skillet with cooking spray and heat over medium high heat. Sauté tofu with soy sauce for about 4-5 minutes until lightly browned; remove from skillet and set aside. Rinse and chop green onions, cut tomatoes in half and finely chop cilantro. Combine tofu with vegetables; add beans and cumin; drizzle with lime juice and olive oil. Toss and serve warm on a bed or field greens.

5 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. It’s unfortunate that most of us work while sitting. Writing is a sedentary pursuit in front of a computer. Do you spend most of your day sitting, sometimes for stints of eight hours? This leads to a backside that spreads to fill our chair, a backache from hunching over the keyboard, and stress that grows as we work. The good news: this scenario does not have to be inevitable. We need to develop some combative healthy habits.

  2. Kathleen, I don’t sit all day but time constraints make me stressed. I’m always beating the clock. I know my limitations, and my family obligations are important. I schedule an afternoon break for meditation. After dinner with my family, I go on a long brisk walk.

  3. Ladies, I’m so busy I can’t think outside the box. But I have a plan and stick to it. After work I swim laps. If I went home and had dinner first, I’d never take this time for myself. I’m lucky that my husband Rob enjoys cooking. He shops and makes dinner on week days, and I take over on weekends.

  4. Eating right is a critical concept. Fatty foods, foods high in sugar, and nothing fresh is a disaster. I monitor portion sizes and eat a wide fresh variety. This really helps. And there’s an elliptical in front of our flat screen.

  5. A routine is so helpful for us. I’ve learned I need to do laps in the morning, by ten if possible. When I swim in the afternoon, I’m really tired and swim slower. My schedule is writing, up at 5:30. By ten I’m drained and need a break!

Leave a Reply

