People craft– getting along with yourself

These days women try to be less self-depreciating.  Accepting compliments is a good thing.  If you serve up something, food or a story, never apologize.  As a writer I need to promote my books, but I promote others books as well.  Yes, our publishers expect us to promote.  Even Dean Koontz does it by presenting a class and having signings.

One way I help promote another author’s book I’ve read is to put out a review on Amazon or elsewhere.  I also teach writing classes for Romance Writers of America chapters.  A good way to draw attention to a new release is placing a book trailer on youtube.  Prices for this can be high, but a cover artist I’ve used does them for $60!  In case you are interested, her information is at the end of my book trailer for DEEDS OF DECEIT, shown on

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_8JsbQUTX9U  (Arg, I’m technically challenged– cut and paste into your browser if you want to watch it, ha ha.)

As a writer helping other writers, I physically meet at Storytellers Soiree every two months.  In case you are in the Pasadena area, we will meet in late January. roman columns with open book

7 thoughts on “People craft– getting along with yourself

  1. Janessa Breckinridge

    Kathleen, it is soooo true that people who DO SOMETHING are in the spotlight. Maybe the DOER feels self conscious and says, “it was no big thing” or something disparaging. Doing something also invites criticism– someone will think they could do it better.

  2. Reba Studebaker

    At photo shoots, there will always be another model who tells me I have a little blemish and can she help with some eraser. This is an old trick to undermine confidence.

Leave a Reply

