Eat– for Good Health

Are you feeling as stressed in January as during the holidays?  Too rigid New Years Resolutions do that to us.  Sure, we want to drop ten pounds.  Take it easy, don’t starve.  Yesterday I joined writer friends at Storytellers Soiree and thoroughly enjoyed a Caribbean Chicken Salad with no dressing, no bread and iced tea. Our writers group is a lot of fun.  It is so worth attending because we’re close friends and share on many levels including the business side.

Problem was, I didn’t have time to swim. (Did lots of sitting and driving around L.A.) My body is accustomed to it, and I was getting a headache. Swimming laps is something I enjoy doing every day.  Today I’m back on my me schedule.  Here’s what I’m making for lunch: Mushroom and Bean Barley Soup with salad and pear.

1 cup vegetable broth

1/2 oz. barley

1/4 tsp. dried parsley

1 1/2 cup canned white beans, rinsed and drained

1 chopped scallion

1 tsp. olive oil (for cooking onion/mushrooms until softened)

1/4 cup evaporated nonfat milk

dash of pepper

     After cooking onions and mushrooms, add broth, barley, beans, and parsley.  Cover and simmer until barley is tender, about 15 minutes.  Stir in milk and cook until hot.  Add pepper if desired.

 

4 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. Janessa Breckenridge

    Kathleen, I know the feeling– sitting while driving, sitting while eating, and then sitting while everyone is talking (during the meeting). Then, we hurry home to make dinner, and there isn’t much time left for moving our bodies.

  2. Kathleen Rowland

    Janessa, I absolutely adore my friends at Storytellers Soiree. Most of us have to drive a bit of a distance to meet in the middle. Funny thing, there is apparently a huge ebook market in China right now, and many authors are having books translated to Mandarin so that the Chinese will buy them.

  3. Reba Studebaker

    Wow, that’s cool to know that sometimes the Chinese buy our stuff! Your last book was published by Eternal Press, and they have a huge English market… the U.S., Australia, the U.K.

  4. Kathleen Rowland

    Yup, I couldn’t be happier. My book Deeds of Deceit is doing well, and I’m working on the sequel (Deeds of Malice) in my Welcome to the Lake mystery series. It also takes place in the Big Bear California mountain lake region– I need to get up there, rent a log cabin and write. The place is full of atmosphere. Well, I’m off to the pool for much needed swimming. Have a great day everyone!

Leave a Reply

