Eat– for Good Health

On Tuesdays and Thursdays my husband likes to have a salad at 5 p.m. because he plays tennis at 6:30.  Like most people, Gerry thinks salads are served cold.  My challenge is variety– just how many salads are there that he would like?  Here’s my solution– in the early afternoon, I make what sounds good which is usually something served hot. Then, sneaky me, I chill it in the fridge and serve it over greens, maybe add chopped tomato.  This is what I’m making today, and the recipe is for one serving which I will double.

Ingredients for Grilled Chicken (1 serving)

  • 1/3 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp. fresh thyme
  • 1/4 tsp. dried rosemary
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. garlic powder
  • 3 oz. boneless chicken breast

Directions:

Preheat either grill or broiler. Rinse and pat dry chicken. Whisk olive oil and spices together in a pie plate or small platter; add chicken and coat. If possible, cover and let marinate, refrigerated, for 30 minutes. Grill chicken, reserving marinade, approximately 6-8 inches from heat source for 5-7 minutes, then turn and baste with remaining marinade. Cook an additional 5-6 minutes or until inside is no longer pink. Serve. Discard any leftover marinade.

 Baked potato (I’ll make 2 small– great in a salad!)
  • 1 small potato ( 1 ¾- inch to 2 ½-inch diameter)

Directions:

Scrub potato and prick with fork. If microwaving, place on a paper towel. Microwave on high for approximately 2-4 minutes, depending upon the size. Turn over once and microwave another 2-3 minutes. If baking, bake in 375-degree oven for 40-50 minutes, depending upon the size. Let potato stand approximately 2-4 minutes. Serve.

Lemon Green Beans– also great in a salad (Gerry thinks I’m innovative, ha ha)

  • 1 cup frozen green beans
  • 1/3 tbsp. fresh lemon juice
  • 1/3 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp. dried oregano

Directions:

Microwave or steam green beans according to package directions. Drain thoroughly. Toss with lemon juice and olive oil; sprinkle with oregano. Serve.

 

13 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. Kathleen Rowland

    You know I don’t think we ever need to apologize to anyone for faking out our skinny genes. As a writer going to writer conferences, I notice how heavy most writers are. I visited a blog of another writer recently, and she said she eats five jelly donuts every day. That’s a serious amount for a poor food choice.

  2. Zoie Bennett

    Yikes is right, Reba. Awesome recipes here at Petals in the Gazebo, Kathleen. I have been visiting here but never posted. I really appreciate your attitude that we just need to be smart.

  3. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Smart is always a good thing, Zoie. I’m missing a foot due to a boating-propeller accident, and I cannot be heavy. I’m athletic and want to stay that way. My sport is swimming laps, like Kathleen.

  4. Kathleen Rowland

    Heroines in my books are self respecting. They work out and eat with intelligence. In my work-in-progress Filipina heroine Amihan Santos is a fashion designer of sportswear. She’s an avid hiker, and in the scene I’m writing now she is testing out new hiking shorts (earthy colors in stretch fabric). She isn’t skinny-skinny but not fat either. At 5’3″ and weighing 115 pounds, she designs clothing that makes normal bodies look trim. Her clothing must feel comfortable.

Leave a Reply

