Eat– for Good Health

Friends, this is going to be a busy day for me.  This month I am teaching an online writing class, and I critique work daily.  Also, I will bring dinner to a family who has an epileptic five-month-old daughter.  Starting this afternoon at the hospital where she has eating tubes, the young mom and dad going to take turns being with her all day and all night.  Baby is having tests done to determine many things, and one is surgery.   For dinner, I’m making Chicken Cordon Bleu, couscous with chopped raw cashews, steamed green beans, toss salad, and rolls.  (I have posted that recipe here previously.) Their nanny is going to transport food to them at the hospital.  For their all-nighter, I’m packing Spicy Salmon Potato Salad in ice.

Ingredients serve one, multiply accordingly:

  • 1 small potato ( 1 ¾- inch to 2 ½-inch diameter)
  • 2 oz. salmon filet
  • 1/4 medium red bell pepper
  • 1/4 small onion
  • 2 tsp. red wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp. fresh lime juice
  • 1/4 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1 tbsp. fresh cilantro (coriander)
  • 1/4 jalapeno pepper
  • 1 cup mixed salad greens
  • 1/3 tbsp. olive oil

Directions:

Peel and cut potato into 1-inch cubes. Boil for about 15 minutes until tender, but not too soft. Drain and set aside to cool. Rinse and dry salad greens; place them on a serving plate. Rinse and pat dry salmon. Coat a skillet with cooking spray and cook salmon at medium heat for about 3-4 minutes per side until no longer translucent; remove from heat and set aside. Rinse and finely chop red pepper, onion, jalapeno, and cilantro; set aside. In a small bowl, whisk together vinegar, olive oil, lime juice and oregano until well blended. Flake salmon, add cooked potatoes, vegetables and mix thoroughly with the vinegar mixture. Place mixture on top of salad greens and serve.

6 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. Hi Mary Alice, yes, I’m afraid so. A month ago their baby could suck on a bottle, but that reflex has degenerated. The parents are strong and are going whatever they can to save her. They have three other children– the baby’s fraternal twin who is doing fine, a two-year-old and a four-year-old. Baby Savannah has a problem basic to survival.

  2. Janessa, it’s fun. I enjoy helping new writers. My goal is to get them to write with deep pov for a character. Publishers of romance want two points of view– one for the hero and one for the heroine. For romantic suspense, a third pov is encouraged from the villain. My goal for them is to write as if a video camera is on the focus character’s head– envision what is going on inside their head and react accordingly. A secondary goal is sequence– something happens, and the character reacts to it. It isn’t the other way around!

  3. Jill, I have tabled my sequel. I’ll get back to it after I rewrite MINING EVERMORE. I regained writes to this book published in 2007. I have learned so much in five years. I didn’t want to just put it out without major changes. My son Ted (teddymeyerphotography.com) gave me an amazing photo which will be the cover. The new title is FALLEN EVERMORE. It will be a faster and more intense read.

Leave a Reply

