Wordsmith– I also write books

Please join our small or midsize press discussion and share your experiences.  Book feedback is important. Do you receive a monthly statement and royalty check?

Although small presses want quality writing and good stories, they accept a wider variety.  New talented writers who find a reader following are highly respected no matter where they are published.  RWA accepts these writers as PAN (published author network) after a writer makes a thousand dollars on a single full-length book.

Because New York houses don’t buy many short story collections, some well known authors have theirs published in the small press.

Isn’t the bottom line book royalties and good clear contracts?  I have published with several small presses and Amira Press, with their monthly statements and royalties, is the best.  What small press publisher is your favorite and why?

12 thoughts on “Wordsmith– I also write books

  1. Dr. Jill

    Kathleen, I am going to be lurking today. I have written poems and short stories but have been rejected…over and over.

  2. A year ago, I signed my first publishing contract with Black Opal Books–and I believe I was one of their first authors. In spite of my own personal difficulties the whole experience has been positive, and my second book will be coming out through BOB next months. Yes there have been growing pains but there has also been tremendous support, and a respect between authors and publisher I have not heard of others experiencing. These days, no matter who publishes your books, it is up to authors to do much of their own promotion. Personal issues got in my way and it’s been slow going but BOB never gave up on me, and continues to look for ways to help their authors. If nothing else it’s a great start. Oh, and each book has gone through THREE edits. The few times I did not agree with the edits we were able to discuss and come up with a good compromise.

  3. Kathleen Rowland

    Hello Mona Karel! It’s good to hear news about Black Opal Books. I visited your website– I like how you give it a conversational-touch. It’s warm and inviting. Black Opal must have liked your sales numbers of your first book, or they would not be publishing your second soon!
    Mona, you are absolutely correct that not all writers experience support from publishers. Obviously Black Opal is one of the jewels. Thanks for letting us know.

  4. Rudyard

    Mona Karel, I checked out your publisher, Black Opal Books. Wide range with all genres of romance, as well as women’s fiction, chick lit, historicals, mysteries, thrillers, YA, and limited non-fiction. I’m impressed that royalties range from 45% to 70%!!

  5. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Mona– I just read one of the many great reviews for your book, KILLER MY LOVE, which means I bought it.– Reviewer Reggie said–My Killer, My Love by Mona Karel is an outstanding achievement for a debut author. I can’t find enough good things to say about this book. Why do I like it? The title for one thing. How could you not read the book with a title like that? For another thing, the characters are different. Take the heroine, Kendra Weiss. Kendra is not beautiful. Not only is she not beautiful, she’s handicapped. She is recovering from the injuries she received when she was pinned under a heavy object for hours with the weigh across her knees. Now her knees are scarred and ugly. She walks with a cane, and she wears glasses. Not contacts, glasses. How many heroines have you seen recently in romances that wear glasses? Or have ugly physical scars. Most heroines these days are tall, slender, and beautiful. All the things most of us are not. It’s delightfully refreshing to find a new author with the guts to deviate from the norm and give us a heroine who actually feels like a real person. I’m impressed.

    1. Thanks so much!! I feel so fortunate to find a publisher who will risk a book about a heroine with a limp and glasses from an unknown author. And when the next book was about two wounded souls finding each other (instead of a sequel to the first book) they didn’t blink.

  6. Kathleen Rowland

    Publisher Yvette Lynn of Amira Press is generous. Just a few days ago I asked her if she know if any of my discontinued books were available anywhere. My computer had died. She sent pdf files of them!! Two years ago I sent her an inspirational guide for healthy eating. This was not a genre of Amira Press, and so Yvette recommended I send it to a publisher friend of hers. She recommended me, and the book was published.
    Tell me, who is this generous!

  7. Reba Studebaker

    Nice is terrific, and it’s also nice that Yvette Lynn sends her authors monthly statements and royalties. Monthly not quarterly or yearly!

  8. Rudyard

    I’ve been with small presses, and they work differently. One sent checks monthly. Another paid by paypal quarterly.

    Now, I’m almost entirely an “indie author” with my back list and original titles. I’ve got 8 books out there, in almost every venue possible.

    As has been said by others, they do pay differently. Some quarterly, some monthly. Some either direct deposit, others to Paypal.

    Most pay 60 days after the close of their payment schedule. So, for monthly payments, I’ll know what I’m getting in advance, because they all have access to sales, but it’ll be two months before I see the money.

Leave a Reply

