Eat– for Good Health

Manhattan Clam Chowder was invented in the early 1800s by NYC Italians who always grew tomatoes when Portuguese fishermen had a surplus of clams.  I prefer Manhattan over White, and I’m making it today.  Although some recipes call for bacon, I just use 2 tablespoons olive oil to brown 2 chopped carrots, 2 chopped celery stalks, 1/2 chopped onion, 1 minced or pressed clove of garlic, 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme, 1/4 teaspoon celery seed, 2 bay leaves, 12 ounces tomato juice, 1 14-oz can of clam broth, 2 10-oz cans of baby clams juice reserved, 1 pound cut up potatoes.  Or, the second “clam” option is to use fresh clams– a dozen live small clams such as littlenecks or manila, salt and pepper to taste. Place hot sauce on the table for some of your guests.

Scrub clams clean and place in a small pot and add 2 cups water.  Bring water to a boil, cover and steam until open, about 10 to 20 minutes.  Remove from heat and remove clams, setting them aside.  Strain clam steaming liquid through a fine mesh, reserving the liquid.  You will use the steaming liquid in place of clam broth. 

Manhattan Clam Chowder

10 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. Reba Studebaker

    Thanks for this wonderful low calorie recipe, Kathleen. I most certainly will make it without the bacon and grease used in some recipes to saute veggies. Looks delicious.

  2. Rudyard Rowland

    Interesting, Kathleen, that the NYC Italians invented it. It looks so good, and I’ll bet it’s delicious with bacon on the side, ha ha.

  3. Hi Mary Alice and Rudyard (such fun we have the same last name!) — yes, I met Jim, the dad. This was last week after returning from visiting our daughter Marla in NYC and before our visit to Houston to visit son Jeff and his family. Jim moved from northern California back here which was his original home, he said. I did not meet his wife, and don’t know if there is one. He said he has a disabled teenage son who makes lots of noise, and two other children– a young son and a daughter who goes to MIT in Boston. Anyway, I’m bringing a dinner to them on Wednesday.

  4. Hi Mary Alice, temperatures are cooler this week, and I’m making Chicken Pot Pie with crust on top, California field-greens salad with cranberries/walnuts and feta cheese, and poached pears with raspberry sauce with vanilla ice cream. It’s pretty basic which kids usually like. I think I mentioned I cook an extra fancy meal for us on Wednesdays anyway. It’s a tradition, and my husband looks forward to it.

  5. Janessa Breckenridge

    Now on our street we have three families now with disabled kids– I see Sandy and Cam’s daughter get on a bus in the morning, and I think she is about eighteen now. Ken and Rebecca had twins seven months ago, and the baby girl is on a respirator. My prayers are with these devoted parents.

  6. Melinda Meyer

    On the subject of recipes, Kathleen, I look forward to GOLD STANDARD OF THIN coming out on the Kindle. Just got one!

  7. Kathleen Rowland

    Hi Melinda– yup, our healthy eating guide will be available in eBook formats about June, I think! Thanks for asking. We (daughter Janice and I) received copyrights back, and we plan to self publish it through Amazon and smashwords.

Leave a Reply

