Eat– for Good Health

Confession: I was diet-lazy, and ten pounds creeped up on me! Intent on supercharging weight loss, I started journaling with a calorie budget.  Mine is 900 calories a day.  I’m 5’4″ and feel my best at 120.  At this moment I’m at 130, and jeans are tight.  By writing down how I’m feeling and what I’m eating in quantity/calorie, I’m getting the magic back with steady results.  Putting myself first, I swim laps from 6 to 7 am.  I started this a month ago when I learned I had a pre-cancerous skin condition, solar keritosis.  After  a couple spots were “liquid nitrogened”, I started a regiment with a new product, Solaraze gel, from my dermatologist.  For awhile I need to stay out of the sun.

Back to weight gain, I made the two classic mistakes, 1) Lack of portion control and 2) Skipping breakfast which means eating more later in the day.  Now I’m front-loading calories.   My breakfast today was an orange sectioned, 1 piece of flourless whole grain toast (Oasis Flourless wheat, all-natural sprouted bread) and a deli-style fried egg (with a scant of butter).

Keep a journal
Supercharge a diet plan by keeping a journal.
5 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. Janice Rowland

    Yes! Instead of flour, sprouted wheat berries! They have the most nutrients per unit of any food known to man. Sprouts are more easily digested than whole grains or flour—even by people sensitive to wheat. This is most likely due to the enzymes and amino acids created by the sprouting process; this produces dissolvable compounds out of insoluble oils and turns whole grains into a complete protein food.

    To throw some numbers at you, let’s look at wheat: wheat berries contain forty of the forty-four essential nutrients known to man, and only about 5% of wheat’s calories come from fat. When a grain of wheat is sprouted, it retains all the nutrients of the wheat berry, but it becomes a new life. Sprouted bread are digested as a vegetable rather than a starch. Sprouted grain breads are high in fiber since they contain all the bran and germ of the entire wheat kernel.

  2. Reba Studebaker

    Oasis Bakery is a product of Sprouts, my favorite farmers market. Non-GMO, but University of California Davis (agricultural department) says GMO is safe.

  3. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Reba, I listened to a debate about Prop 37, the hot GMO labeling topic. I’m on the fence also because some enhancements have meant fewer pesticides. Plus, meat does not require labeling which basically means we don’t know what was consumed by the animal. Most corn has been GMO for a very long time.

Leave a Reply

