Eat– for Good Health

Friends, I keep up with what’s in my refrigerator.  Once a week I make soup to use up vegetables and leftovers.  I’m amazed at how delicious soup turns out.  This morning I started as usual, with a can of vegetable broth.  I added ravioli leftovers, about a cup.  In went chopped carrots, cabbage,left over from making cole slaw, chives/parsley/basil from the garden, green beans, peas, and “older” tomatoes.  I’ll enjoy a good, cheap lunch with a half grilled cheese sandwich.  I save on food bills, and my body “thanks me” by feeling good.  I find that if I do two things, I have zero food cravings.  From six to seven in the morning, (1) I swim laps. (2) I have breakfast.

By the way I’m having a contest, free to enter.  See post below for details.  My heroines know how to take care of themselves.  They eat healthful food.  I never have them eating junk food!  Here is the cover of WINDWARD WHISPERINGS.  In the book the heroine has the hero over for homemade crabcakes!

Windward Whisperings
Windward Whisperings

 

8 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. Our daughter Janice, home for Thanksgiving break, told me something sad yesterday. At California State University Chico, where she is a senior, a 21-year-old college student, Mason Sumnicht, died in an alcohol related incident. Mason Sumnicht was taken off of life support earlier this week.

    In early Novembmer when Mason was pledging Sigma Pi, he was told (or it was suggested) that he take 21 shots. He went into a coma. Pledges are coerced. That’s the way it’s always been.

  2. Reba Studebaker

    Kathleen, I heard this on the news. Tragic and unnecessary.
    Chico university officials have warned fraternity and sorority leadership earlier this year about alcohol consumption, hazing, alleged assaults and other violations.

  3. Kathleen Rowland

    Reba, the university president is suspending Greek activities until spring semester, but I don’t think it’s enough. This fraternity should be permanently suspended. The actives pushing Mason Sumnicht to take 21 shots did a terrible thing. Don’t they read their charter?

  4. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    My prayers go out to his parents. Mason was going to graduate this spring. He was a founder of the current Chico State Ski and Snowboard Club and then, to his detriment, was pledging the fraternity Sigma Pi.
    I don’t want our sons to pledge fraternities. They’ve outlived their usefulness in college society.

  5. Reba Studebaker

    Mary Alice, you’re right. There was a time when kids went away to college, and parents thought if they joined fraternities or sororities, they’d have a fun time and have a safe place to live. Also, a big difference is that there aren’t house mothers anymore. Mrs. McGruff would be just around the corner and come out barking if something was amiss.

  6. Reba Studebaker

    The fact that Mason was a pledge, was choking on his own vomit, and no one got around to calling 911 “for awhile” is upsetting beyond description.

Leave a Reply

