People craft– taking care of yourself

New Year’s Resolutions!  Are they worthwhile? Yes!  We only live once and want to take care of ourselves in ways that bring us satisfaction.   For me, a sweeping 12-month plan is daunting.  I have more success with facing a decision and then making the best choice for me.  I look ten minutes past the event to determine how I’ll feel.   Do you want to have a better work day, feel more energized, feel slim and fit, save some money, or give back?

What I’ve wanted more than fame is normal.  My husband and I are still in love.  All five children are achieving happy people.  This doesn’t mean life hasn’t thrown me curve balls.  Let me tell you about the Go Big Theory;  if you work toward more than one accomplishment, and encounter unexpected misery, you will recover faster if you have choices.  I’m nice to myself and accept that I’m not perfect.  By swimming laps every day and choosing healthy food, I look as good as I can.

new year's resolutions

6 thoughts on “People craft– taking care of yourself

  1. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Kathleen, I saw you planting a live Christmas tree in the pouring rain– didn’t stop because water would have drenched through the open window. It’s windy!

  2. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Thanks for asking, Kathleen. My mom and dad are loving our sons, Max and Jake. I have to say, they have the benefit of Rob as the stay home dad. I am the breadwinner, and we’re our best selves in these roles. I agree with what you said about NORMAL being better than fame! Building a happy family is kind of like planting a tree.

  3. Janessa Breckenridge

    Hey Mary Alice– I saw Kathleen’s car pass my window– hitting the clearance sales, no doubt. Glad to hear all went well for you at Christmas. As I recall your parents didn’t think you and Rob should adopt your sons. That was several years ago, and Max and Jake are amazing guys, now 14 and 16!

  4. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Hello Janessa. Yes sir ee, we proved their grandparents wrong. Kids can be pretty resilient. Rob is a great influence. Maybe it’s his army background, ha ha. Max and Jake make their beds, do their laundary, and keep their rooms picked up. Then, Rob takes them out for exercise. We limit how much time they play video games. I feel they don’t get rid of restless energy by playing couch-potato games. I’m grateful Rob agrees.

Leave a Reply

