Eat– for Good Health

For dinner I’m making Salmon Spinach Salad.  My husband, Gerry, asked me to make it because he’s playing tennis right after dinner and wanted something light.  One serving is 280 calories.  I think most families have lighter and heavier meals naturally, depending upon schedules.  A popular diet is “calorie-cycling”, and one example is Dr. Ian Smith, M.D.’s Shred: The Revolutionary Diet.  In his diet people switch days from 1000 calories to 2000 calories, and the idea is to shake up the metabolism.  For me that’s too many calories because I’m 5’4″ and presently weigh 130.  My goal is 120, and I would need to average 900 calories a day to lose weight.  Therefore, if I “cycled calories”, I would toggle between 600 and 1200;  600 + 1200 = 1800; 1800 divided by 2 = 900.  If you are on the Gold Standard of Thin plan, Secret Number One is your personal formula.  You need to consume 300 to 500 calories less than your body requires.  If a person weighs 145 pounds, divide this by 7 to get calories per day for losing 2 pounds per week, which is 1015 calories.   If a person weighs 200 pounds, he or she can eat a lot more and lose weight.

Balsamic-Salmon Spinach Salad Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 salmon fillet (6 ounces)
  • 2 tablespoons reduced-fat balsamic vinaigrette, divided
  • 3 cups fresh baby spinach
  • 1/4 cup cubed avocado
  • 1 tablespoon chopped walnuts, toasted
  • 1 tablespoon sunflower kernels, toasted
  • 1 tablespoon dried cranberries

Directions

  • Drizzle salmon with 1 tablespoon vinaigrette. Place on a broiler pan coated with cooking spray. Broil 3-4 in. from the heat for 10-15 minutes or until fish flakes easily with a fork. Cut salmon into two pieces.
  • Meanwhile, in a large bowl, toss spinach with remaining vinaigrette. Divide between two plates. Top each with half of the salmon, avocado, walnuts, sunflower kernels and cranberries. Yield: 2 servings.

2 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Kathleen, are you going to do calorie cycling? 600 calories a day isn’t much! I don’t know that I’d want to do it. I just consistently don’t eat a lot.

  2. Kathleen Rowland

    Hi Mary Alice, I am curious to see if I can lose more than 2 pounds a week with the calorie cycling. I am going to try it. Yesterday I went out to lunch with a friend, and we went to Javier’s at Irvine Spectrum. In other words, BIG LUNCH! Today I’m going to consume 600 calories– skinny latte, poached egg, broccoli-chicken broth soup, and the salmon salad. Before bedtime, a very small serving of cereal/nonfat milk.

Leave a Reply

