Eat– for Good Health

When I’m super-busy, I pay extra attention to healthy food preparation and exercise.  Six mornings a week, I swim laps before the sun comes up.  On that other day I garden and clean like a maniac.  On tonight’s menu: Sweet & Sour Pork & Vegetables at 350 calories per serving.

Sweet and Sour Pork III Recipe

Ingredients make 4 servings

1 pkg (microwavable, 90 seconds) brown rice

2 T. Hoisin sauce

1 T. lime juice

2 T. oil (I use olive oil)

2 carrots (matchsticks)

1 red bell pepper (strips)

1/2 lb. pork tenderoin, thinly sliced

1 cup bean sprouts

2 green onions, thinly sliced

Small can pineapple chunks

Directions:

Brown meat in oil first, and then stir fry.  Make rice according to pkg directions.

6 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. Reba Studebaker

    Hi Kathleen, you are right– when we’re busy, we need to pay closer attention to what we eat and also find time to exercise. I have to keep reminding myself of reasons why I enjoy being thin. Even for me, it’s a constant effort.

  2. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Reba, of course you do. Your work as a legs model depends upon being on the thin side. I don’t even need a scale to know I’m falling into ‘too much snacking’– the waist band of my skirts can get tight.

  3. Janessa Breckenridge

    The Sweet & Sour Pork recipe looks scruptious! I like having a terrific meal to look forward to. Kathleen, I’m guessing you’re working really hard on the book series you want to pitch next month.

  4. Kathleen Rowland

    Yes, I am, Janessa. Yesterday I wrote 1200 words, and entire chapter! I’m having a lot of fun because I’m challenging myself to add twists and surprises. Next month I will attend the California Dreamin’ conference in Santa Ana. We can’t pitch unless our book is finished.

  5. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Way to go, Kathleen. Please let us know how the pitching session went after the conference. Best of luck. Don’t get scared and go monotone!!

  6. Kathleen Rowland

    Mary Alice and pals, I will try to present my story the best I can. We have very little time, less than a minute. This is called the elevator pitch. The four important elements are hero/heroine motivation, conflict, and passion.

Leave a Reply

