People craft– taking care of yourself

Today I bought a four-leaf clover plant.  I want Good Luck when this weekend, I pitch my book to an editor and agent at a writers’ conference.  Like the heroine in my story, I have big dreams.  Besides a “little bit of luck” I worked hard to write the best story I could.  It’s a futuristic young adult romantic suspense wrought with tenderness, conflict, and adventure.  I want to look my professional best when I pitch.  Yesterday I bought a cap-sleeve black sheath.  Today I had my nails French-manicured, and tomorrow I’m having low lights put in my hair.  I’ll wear a four leaf clover in my hair for good luck.  Maybe only I will know it’s there. It turns out many people carry some sort of lucky charm (or object of religious faith or inspiration) to help their life go a little bit better.  On an emotional level we get positive energy from the lucky object.  It inspires us.  Lucky charms such as an amulet or talisman are used by sports people, politicians, and actors.  I have to say, I’m feeling confident and optimistic, and maybe that’s the best luck of all.

10 thoughts on “People craft– taking care of yourself

  1. Janessa Breckenridge

    Good luck, Kathleen. I believe wholeheartedly in a pearl necklace my grandmother gave me. I read a study from the University of Cologne, and they proved the value of a good luck charm or a symbol of faith like a Christian fish or cross. Lucky ‘charms’ are often thought to have ‘magical’ powers: And there is nothing wrong with that. People have put their faith is inexplicable symbols, beliefs and religions since time began.

  2. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Hi Janessa and Kathleen,
    A while back I read that in Japan, especially during the spring exam time, people go to shrines and temples – but not to pray. They write their wishes on a wooden tablet called an ’ema’ that has a picture of a horse on the back, and then hang the tablet in the temple. Long ago, people believed that the Gods rode horses, and so an ema was a way of asking the Gods to come and help them. And, just like many other people throughout the world today, they really believe that it works. Children in school put lucky charms on their desks, attach them to cell phones, and so on. The point is – they BELIEVE it will work.

  3. Reba Studebaker

    Personally, I recommend the horseshoe. Horseshoes are probably the most commonly recognized good luck charm in the Western World – millions of people think they are lucky including my husband who uses one as a paperweight.

    Since earliest times, man has believed that the crescent or U-shape was a powerful protective talisman. For the Greeks, it symbolized the crescent moon which was regarded as a symbol of fertility, with links to Moon goddesses such as Artemis and Diana. They were also used to ward off the mischievous celtic fairies.

  4. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Reba, I put you in the category of mischievous celtic fairies. I’m surprised he hasn’t been able to ward you off.

  5. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Yessirree! If anyone is interested, and I’m not Irish but adore St Paddy’s Day, Pandora.com has some great free Irish music.

  6. Janessa Breckenridge

    Ladies, if anyone wants to stop by my house on Sunday morning at 10, I’m having an Irish Coffee Party. You know– coffee with 1 ounce Baileys Irish Cream Liquier, 2 ounces whiskey, and a splash of milk. I’m serving it with Irish Soda Bread.

Leave a Reply

