People craft– taking care of yourself

Friends, when I have a goal, I accomplish it faster if I surround myself with committed people with the same goal.  This happens at writers’ conferences.  The workshops at last weekend’s SoCal RWA California Dreamin’ Conference were amazing.  I like learning how top authors write their books.  Many are pantsers, others are plotters, and this group often employs story boards.  I talked with authors who write using the Scrivners product.  The relatively new publisher, Boroughs Publishing Group, has an impressive business model.  Boroughs is all-digital, and to me, this makes sense.  My eBooks sell at about 95% of the total (paperback and eBook). 

9 thoughts on “People craft– taking care of yourself

  1. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Hi Kathleen. I read most of my books on my Nook. My husband Rob has a Kindle. Our boys each have their own Kindles and read all the time. I’m going to check out books from Boroughs.

  2. Kathleen Rowland

    Hey there, Mary Alice. Boroughs has a huge variety. At the moment I’m reading SARAH’S COWBOY. It’s in the New Years Eve Club series.

  3. Janessa Breckenridge

    Hello gals. Do you know why I love reading from a Kindle? I have more privacy with what I read. For instance at a doctor’s or other office, I don’t have people trying to get into a conversation about the book I’m reading.

  4. Reba Studebaker

    OMIGOSH, Janessa, me too. I used to make book covers for my sexy romance novels so that people couldn’t judge me!

  5. Kathleen Rowland

    Reba and Janessa– my husband Gerry (CPA with his own practice) says at least half the people in his reception area read their eBooks while they wait for tax appointments. More guys have them now, he says.

  6. Dr. Jill

    Kathleen, at my ob-gyn office, so many of my patients read from their devices. And I do when I get home. I’d rather read a good story than watch most of what’s on TV.

  7. Dr. Jill

    Yeah!! I was just taking a little break from doing them! This is what I do when I’m having a five minute cup of tea.

  8. Kathleen Rowland

    I want to add that leadership at Boroughs Publishing Group is impressive and well connected. CEO Michelle Kayman (lawyer, multi-published, former editor) has a longtime friendship with acquiring editor Jill Limber (past RWA president and multi-published. Editor-in-chief Chris Keesler is a brilliant talent from Dorchester. All have engaging personalities.

Leave a Reply

