Wordsmith– I also write books

Wordsmith-- I also write books

Storytellers Soiree met yesterday in Glendora, California. What a great meet-up! Isn’t there a ghostliness about pen names? How secretive should we be? Authors choose to have pen names if writing in different genres. I enjoy the outspoken opinions of talented, successful authors, Tina Gayle and M. Catherine Berg. These are names you may know. Mostly Tina writes contemporary romance but has two alternative pen names, one for erotica and one for young adult. M. Catherine Berg writes funny mystery. I write under my real name, Kathleen Rowland, but once published a young adult which confused my typical audience who were looking for spicy romantic suspense. Here’s a little secret– my upcoming New Adult (characters’ ages range from 18 to early thirties) will be written under the pen name of Rudyard Rowland. For book covers I’ll shorten it to Rud Row. My friends thought Rudyard Rowland was too long and tedious. I appreciate good friends who say it like it is. http://www.rudyardrowland.com. Yessirree, I’m in the submission process for the series.

5 thoughts on “Wordsmith– I also write books

  1. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    I agree that once we read in an author’s genre, we get to know their writing style and don’t like abrupt changes. On the topic of ghostliness, eventually readers find out who the person behind the pen name really is, particularly at book signings.

  2. Janessa Breckenridge

    Adults write young adult and new adult, and yet younger readers like the idea of reading books written by fresh voices like theirs. I think you are right, Kathleen, that you needed a pen name that’s different. In other words Kathy Rowland would be too close.

  3. Reba Studebaker

    Kathleen, how does a person represent themselves behind a pen name? I know authors sometimes use little icons so that readers identify with an image. Or authors might use cartoon characters or avatars. What will Rud Row (Rudyard Rowland) use?

  4. Kathleen Rowland

    Thank you for your comments, Mary Alice, Janessa, and Reba. I think I will represent Rud Row (Rudyard Rowland) with an icon of Venus. That’s because RR writes the Intervenus Series.

Leave a Reply

