Eat– for Good Health

Maybe you’ve heard about the hCG diet craze.  Indeed, the 500 calorie per day is rigid, the program costs lots of money, and the dieter administers their own injections of hCG hormone which is used to suppress the appetite.  Reviews are mixed because some dieters are thrilled with their weight loss.  The hCG is labeled as homeopathic and not tooted by WebMD and other reliable health websites.  Just a reminder, Weight Watchers only charges $10 per meeting for all the support one receives.  

Firstly, many people are having success and are convinced with its power.  Secondly, the mainstream medical community says it’s a scam that carries too many health risks and doesn’t lead to long-term weight loss. “It’s reckless, irresponsible, and completely irrational,” says Pieter Cohen, an assistant professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School. “Can you lose weight on it? Of course, but that’s mainly because you’re hardly consuming any calories. And any benefit is not going to last.”

Know what?  I’m not so sure the weight loss can’t last.  I know a person who lost 100 pounds on Weight Watchers who gained it all back. By the way, 100 grams is 3.5 ounces. This is an adequate amount of protein. You could mix it up a bit to have something for breakfast–!

 

Here is the food allowed in first phase, the 500 calorie hCG diet: 

Breakfast:

Tea or coffee in any quantity without sugar. Only one tablespoonful of milk allowed in 24 hours. Saccharin or Stevia may be used.

Lunch:

1.    100 grams of veal, beef, chicken breast, fresh white fish, lobster, crab, or shrimp. All visible fat must be carefully removed before cooking, and the meat must be weighed raw. It must be boiled or grilled without additional fat. Salmon, eel, tuna, herring, dried or pickled fish are not allowed. The chicken breast must be removed from the bird.

2.    One type of vegetable only to be chosen from the following: spinach, chard, chicory, beet-greens, green salad, tomatoes, celery, fennel, onions, red radishes, cucumbers, asparagus, cabbage.

3.    One breadstick (grissino) or one Melba toast.

4.    An apple, orange, or a handful of strawberries or one-half grapefruit.

Dinner :

The same four choices as lunch (above.)

16 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. I think it’s a scam. The hCG diet costs around $150 per doctor’s appointment, not including the cost of the hCG injections and the recommended appetite suppressants.

  2. I’m still on the fence as well. I know I wouldn’t spend that kind of money, but I don’t need to– I am 5’4″ and weigh 118. I’m a lap swimmer and very very picky about what I eat and how much.

  3. Here’s the thing– the hCG diet works for many overweight people. They love how their bodies look and when fat, spend more money on fat people clothing than thin people. Thin women (unless they’re way underweight) look gorgeous in a rag.

  4. Come to think of it, I do love oatmeal, apple, and yogurt after swimming laps in the morning, but my lunch and dinner is not unlike the hCG diet. The truth is that I like being trim more than most people. When others around me are eating candy and ice cream, I’m not even interested. I think about how good I look. (Hee, hee)

  5. Kathleen Rowland

    Friends, I’m just back from swimming laps, and had my delicious cinnamon oatmeal with raisins and unsweetened almond milk. Did you know it’s 30 calories a cup? I added a packet of truvia sweetener. Yum for a total of 230 calories!

Leave a Reply

