Eat– for Good Health

Would you believe Southern Californians love the change of seasons?  Ours are subtle but recognizable.  Liquid Amber trees, in the gum tree family, look like Sugar Maples.  Our Sycamores turn golden, and flowering trees carry fall colors.  Clever, huh?  You might know I love cooking and also weighing south of 120 pounds.  Here’s a little confession– I swim laps daily for 45 minutes which burns huge calories  What about dessert?  I say yes to (one of) these amazing pumpkin muffins.  Photo is courtesy of Jackie Jill.

Weight Watchers 2 Point- Pumpkin Muffins. Photo by JackieJill

 

  • 1 (18 ounce) box spice cake mix
  • 15 ounce can of pumpkin (not the mix which is pie-ready)
  • 1 cup water

 

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients in mixer.
  2. Makes 24 muffins.
  3. Cook for 20-25 minutes at 350°F.
  4. They will be very moist.

 

7 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. Reba Studebaker

    Perfect for me, too, Kathleen. These muffins at 100 calories each will be a snap to make. After photo shoots, I’ll enjoy one with an iced tea.

  2. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Kathleen, the temperatures are dropping at night here– between 55 and 60 degrees. I swim after work and before dinner at one of the adult lap pools– usually Briar Glen. When do you swim?

  3. Kathleen Rowland

    Hey Reba, glad you like my cheatin-from-a box and can low cal muffins. I know you can be trusted to eat just ONE. As a legs model you cannot, will not let the pounds creep up. For me I just like being thin.
    Good Morning, Mary Alice– the Woodbridge Association keeps the adult pools at 83 degrees. I swim at either Stone Creek or Blue Lake. Since they’re Olympic size and designed for swim teams, they water is colder, usually 80 degrees. Funny how every degree makes a difference. I enjoy the competitive spirit of the people who swim at 9 a.m. at Blue Lake even though I’m not in their speed league. I pound the last lap though!

  4. Dr. Jill

    The muffins look terrific. Yesterday while looking at the low-sugar fat-free dessert items at Sprouts Farmers Market, I found cranberry biscotti cookies at 20 calories each. Pretty darn good with a cup of tea in the evening.

  5. Janessa Breckenridge

    I bought them also, Jill. Can’t believe I stopped after one. They’re crispy and thin. Sometimes I can’t and eat the whole box. If that happens, I can’t buy them anymore, ha ha. Too dangerous!

  6. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Be good, Janessa. You know the info from GOLD STANDARD OF THIN. The average weight gain from Halloween through New Years is 7 pounds!

Leave a Reply

