Eat– for Good Health

Crack into the golden cornbread crust to savor my low calorie pot pie made with chicken breast, fresh veggies, and 98% fat free cream of celery soup and chicken broth.  It’s so easy to make, and my recipe has a fraction of the calories of the hearty original version.  Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and spray a Pyrex baking dish or whatever you want to use.

All you do is add 3 cups of chopped baked chicken breast to steamed cut-up veggies such as carrots, celery, green beans, pearl onions, turnips, and then add dashes of thyme and parsley.  Place 1 can cream of celery soup into a mixing bowl with 1/2 can fat free milk and chicken broth.  Add the chicken and vegetables.  Prepare corn bread according to box directions.  I used Jiffy which cost 77 cents.  Pour the mixture into your baking dish, add dollops of corn bread mix on top, and bake until crust is golden brown, about 25 minutes.  This recipe serves 6 and is 350 calories per serving.  It’s delicious with a field greens salad.

 

 
13 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. Annika Griffin

    Reba, I saw you on a runway a few years ago in Los Angeles. You were the model I wanted to look like. You’re confident, stylish, and had a walk that took everyone by storm. You had the air of effortless.

  2. Reba Studebaker

    Oh my, Annika. Thank you, thank you. It’s kind of an act, though, I admit. I pretend I have guys wrapped around my finger. You can be that girl, too. Anyone can.

  3. Nina Banks

    I agree, Reba– confidence the key to beauty. Being healthfully thin ups my internal monologue that I look good enough to wear sexy teddies!

  4. Kathleen Rowland

    All men love them, and I know that’s the style my husband ordered for me! A pink and black teddy, crotchless style. Fun, huh!

  5. Alice Bentley

    Something to look forward to with a new dream guy! I’m going to buy one online and put it in my underwear drawer, a little gift to myself. Just knowing it’s there will make me smile.

  6. Alice Bentley

    Yes indeed, Kathleen. I want to drop fifteen pounds, make some new friends, and tweak my job to get a bit more responsibility. But I also have blessings to count. I’m gaining the vision to make good things happen. I can make your chicken pot pie with the cornbread crust for a family who just moved in, a couple of apartment doors down. They’re a family of 4, and I’ll save a ramekin worth to make for myself.

Leave a Reply

