Eat– for Good Health

Friends, you have the power to make this year your healthiest year yet.  One way is to avoid mindless junky snacking.  Do you feel like munching around four in the afternoon?  For us it’s two more hours until my husband Gerry gets home for dinner, and I plan a late afternoon snack.  Today I’ll have low calorie creamed spinach with sprinkles of Parmesan cheese for 200 calories.  If you are rushed, pick up a box of Tabatchnick’s low calorie creamed spinach.  It’s 50 calories per serving.  Have two!

Creamed Spinach Recipe

Ingredients for 2 servings:

  • 2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup minced shallot, or red onion
  • 10 ounces fresh spinach, tough stems removed
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup low-fat milk
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 2 tablespoons grated Parmesan or Pecorino Romano cheese

    Preparation

    1. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet or Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add shallot (or onion); cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add spinach and cook, stirring, until just wilted, about 2 minutes.
    2. Heat butter in a small saucepan over medium-high heat. Add flour and cook, stirring, until smooth and bubbling, about 30 seconds. Add milk, nutmeg, salt and pepper; cook, whisking constantly, until thickened, about 1 minute. Stir the spinach into the sauce. Sprinkle with grated cheese and serve.

    Nutrition

    Per serving: 203 calories; 13 g fat ( 6 g sat , 6 g mono ); 23 mg cholesterol; 15 g carbohydrates; 9 g protein; 3 g fiber; 370 mg sodium; 870 mg potassium.

 

8 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    I feel positive when I’m looking ahead more than looking back. Whenever I look back, I remember my heavier guilt-ridden self. I’m not that person now!

  2. Mary Alice, I think you’re right about the positive feelings we have when looking to the future and enjoying the present. Discomfort with the past has countless faces. Focusing on the past makes us worry we could have done something better.

  3. Janessa Breckenridge

    Oh my, Kathleen, your creamed spinach recipe looks delicious. I’ve enjoyed the Tabachnick’s creamed spinach also, but I’ll add nutmeg to it next time. Nice snack to avoid plowing through a bag of pretzels instead. Ah yes, I do fall into mindless munching in the late afternoon!

  4. Annika Griffin

    Munching is my way to distract myself when I’m frustrated– something isn’t getting done! I think of it as grazing. There’s this plate of cookies in the break room…

  5. Reba Studebaker

    I often go Zen– take a deep breath. Let the deep breath out. Repeat for just two minutes, and I’m more relaxed and clear-headed. The pretzels or cookies don’t look as appetizing anymore. An apple or creamed spinach (!!) sounds soooo much better.

  6. Dash Hamelton

    Brush your teeth or have a piece of gum: There’s something about having minty breath that makes you want to preserve it and not stink it up with sour cream and onion nonsense.

  7. Alice Bentley

    I just received a cute instagram from a new friend I met a Bible class. Later this afternoon when I’m heading for the vending machine, I’ll send one back. It was a friendly validation and gave me a surge of confidence. Tomorrow I might bring creamed spinach to work!

Leave a Reply

