Wordsmith– I also write books

I’m an author who sometimes writes backwards– backing into the story, marketing before the book is published, and back-stepping into a pen name. Rudyard Rowland writes sweet new adult romance.  Because I write sensuous romantic suspense under my real name, Kathleen Rowland, I don’t want readers to be disappointed in sweet rather than spicy romance.  Last year I completed the first book of Rudyard Rowland’s InterVenus series, see http://www.rudyardrowland.com. For New Adult fiction,  the drop in sensuality does not lessen the heart-stopping romance. Writing interracial is a constant, but InterVenus protagonists are between the ages of 19 and late twenties.

While I’m waiting to hear results from a publisher considering FALLING FOR THE PROTECTOR, I sent the book to a reviewer who may not even like the book.  This particular reviewer writes reviews for a huge newspaper, and if the reporter likes it, I hope she publishes it to the paper.  Next, I’m gathering ideas for a book cover.  That’s easy. While writing, I gaze at photos on their bulletin board.  My heroine is blonde blue-eyed gardener, Yardley Van Dyke. The hero looks like actor Michael Ealy in his younger years, mixed race with green eyes rather than Michael’s blue.

 

7 thoughts on “Wordsmith– I also write books

  1. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Kathleen, our sons Jake and Max are going to love reading a book with a black hero!! Best of luck with your series. Know what? You are going to get cross-over readers. Just like me!

  2. Kathleen Rowland

    Thank you, Mary Alice and Dash. Your support is much appreciated. I’m dedicating the InterVenus series to my grandson, D’mitri, and all other young cool dudes who are black.

  3. Kathleen Rowland

    Thank you, Reba, romance for me increases the suspense as well. Nina, you hit the nail on the head. I visualized my hero, Marchand Lafont, as a warm hearted Michael Ealy except that my guy doesn’t express emotion as well. He’s the protector and can’t get off task, ha ha.

Leave a Reply

