Places– of Charm

Happy St Patty’s Day! Have you noticed the new burgundy shamrock plants?  I bought one, and here it is  below, on my dining room sideboard. The first thing my husband Gerry said was, “It’s not green!”  Right, but the Burgundy Shamrock, ‘Oxalis Triangularis’, will be pretty when covered with pink star-shaped flowers.  The handsome foliage is rich burgundy red with large, shamrock-shaped leaves.  These plants are deer resistant, hardy in zones 7-10, and need full or partial sun.

Image

 

6 thoughts on “Places– of Charm

  1. Dash Hamelton

    Kathleen, I bought a burgundy shamrock in a hanging basket! I didn’t know what it was when I spotted this classy and different plant.

  2. Me too, Jill! I have a shady plot with three mature hydrangeas but other plants (which I will transplant) need sun. I will switch them out and plant shamrocks. The shamrock or clover plant is easy to grow. It grows from bulbs in a clump. Shamrock plants will grow and bloom for years.

  3. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Kathleen, combining plants with unlike sunlight and watering needs is a rooky gardener’s mistake. I know you’ve done lots of work since you bought your house.
    I like your dining room sideboard in your shamrock photo. Is that a Van Gogh above it?

  4. Kathleen Rowland

    Hi Mary Alice, yes, the print is The Cafe Terrace on the Place du Forum, Arles, at Night 1888 by Vincent van Gogh! My husband Gerry picked it.

Leave a Reply

