People Craft– taking care of ourselves

My favorite place to picnic is a shoreline– beside an ocean, a lake, or bubbling stream.  It’s a quiet shady spot on sand or grass with a full view of water.  Since I’ve been packing picnics for years, I have prep down to a science.  I prefer a nylon-backed blanket which keeps out wetness.  A shower curtain under a washable blanket works fine too.  I enjoy having a vintage style basket.

Since I can’t stand sticky fingers, I bring baby wipes and paper towels in addition to pretty cloth napkins.  Reusable plastic dups top my list because they’re better for the environment.  For the meal itself, planning goes a long way.  Purchased food is fine.  You don’t need a knife if you eat Chinese food.  Try fingerling potatoes roasted with olive oil instead of potato salad– use toothpicks as spears.  More than anything, I love oven-fried chicken, cubed melon with mint and lime, grilled corn, and tiny cupcakes.  I bring beverages.  After we leave, there is no trace.

Image

7 thoughts on “People Craft– taking care of ourselves

  1. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Kathleen, thanks for idea to have a picnic. It isn’t that hard to get out. We’re going kayaking today and plan to bring a picnic.

  2. Janessa Breckenridge

    A picnic is the perfect way to say hello to summer. Getting outside for dinner perks up anyone’s day. Purchased food is better when eaten in a park on a picnic table!

  3. Reba Studebaker

    I also enjoy looking the part of a picnicker– swept back hair, upgraded flip-flops, and summer dresses. Sorry, but I like looking good as I smile for the camera!!

  4. Kathleen Rowland

    Stay cool, friends! In SoCal it’s heating up. High eighties makes me want to whirl together fat-free yogurt and fruit into ice pops.

Leave a Reply

